OPINION

I Spent Hours Choosing a Font for a Report

Don’t be like me

TzeLin Sam
Hope * Healing * Humour
4 min readJun 30, 2024

--

A woman looking at a laptop screen with a stressful look on her face.
Photo by Vitaly Gariev on Unsplash

Have you ever been so paralysed by the fear of making mistakes that you can’t even finish the task at hand? I remember when I first started working, I had a huge problem coping with the workload. I kept missing deadlines because I took twice as long to finish tasks.

I used to go over the details repeatedly. Honestly, it’s not even necessary for me to focus so much on those insignificant details.

Once, I even spent nearly half a day just to write a report because I was so obsessed with using the right font type and size! It was as if the success of the entire company depended on my font choice.

Now don’t get me wrong. Of course, we have to be careful with our work, especially if the mistakes might cause leakage to the company.

The easiest way to get fired is to cause the company to lose money. But if you take too long to make decisions, that’s not good either. If you’re stuck deciding between Calibri and Times New Roman, you’re not helping anyone.

In fact, you’re actually wasting company time and resources since it might lead to missed deadlines which is actually even worse than making a few minor mistakes.

--

--