Starting Fresh | Job Change in your 50's

I’m Starting A New Job in My Late 50s, Frankly, It’s a Scary Prospect

Change is not always easy, but sometimes necessary

Bernie Pullen
Hope * Healing * Humour
6 min readJul 5, 2024

--

child putting on shoes
Image from Canva Pro ©

My grandson is 3 years old, he often puts his shoes on the wrong feet. He walks about in them and seems to know that something isn’t right, but he continues walking, till we tell him that it is best to swap them around. He often refuses and soon gets used to the odd feeling.

The uncomfortableness goes away after a while.

Is that what change feels like?

This is what came up for me when reading Liberty Forrest’s story

How To Find Another Way When You’re Stuck

Seeds of Change Start to Shoot

Two months ago, I applied for a new job.

I hadn’t been actively looking to change my job. You don’t when you’re in your late 50’s. You are starting to slow down. With 10 years left till I could officially retire, I was looking to coast having progressed to a level in my career where I was satisfied.

However, work has become an uncomfortable place of late.

--

--

Bernie Pullen
Hope * Healing * Humour

Life experiences intrigue me. Parenting| bereavement|memoir,|travel writer. I’m a coffee lover, I keep grounded by walking in nature, Tai Chi, and Yoga.