My 8-day Water Fast: Skipped Outings, Funky Breath, Minimal Weight Drop…

And… YES, I’d Do It Again!!!

Aurelie B.
Hope * Healing * Humour

--

Woman dressed in white, in the ocean, water up her thighs.
Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

The hidden advantages of spending over a week without eating a single thing.

In 2021, less than ten days before my birthday, I caught my boyfriend cheating. Technically, only intending to… but my discovery led to the reveal of several previous misdemeanors. I stopped his recollection at four. By then, I was in shambles.

Our fight had happened outdoors, in front of the public eye, but the only clap heard at the end of the show was the slap that landed on my ex’s cheek. I returned home immediately after our curtain call. No encore for us. The scene was over, but I was yet to deal with the tremor.

To soothe me, I ransacked my freezer to find a pint of ice cream, which was surely the solution to ease my pain, just like they do in the movies.

But I wasn’t the lead actress of a trendy drama, I was a real-life person, with real tears, and I couldn’t fathom the idea of eating anything. I needed comfort, not fuel for energy.

During pretty much all my life, I had found solace in food… until I dove into anorexia. Then, food became the issue, not the answer. A few years later, the skinny bich I had once been…

--

--

Aurelie B.
Hope * Healing * Humour

Me? 30 something French woman living in Toronto. Positive, witty & a dash sarcastic. You? Open-minded reader ready to follow me on my adventures through Medium.