Life Lessons

When Life Gives You Lemons, Sometimes You Can’t Hand Them Back

All of us will face predicaments in our lives; it’s how you deal with them that counts

Bernie Pullen
Hope * Healing * Humour
4 min readFeb 27, 2022

--

person holding lemons
Created using Canva Pro Images

This week has been an introspective one, as my family faces a challenge. This pandemic has changed many of our lives and for us, that would also hold true. I wrote of the struggle to travel across the world due to the closed borders, after I lost my mother, at the start of the pandemic. I live in the UK and my parents were in New Zealand.

I was therefore elated when New Zealand announced recently that it was opening its borders, but only gradually, and that I would be able to travel there in July this year. With plans set in motion to see my father who had coped on his own throughout this pandemic without his loving partner beside him and our family scattered all over the world, he really had been all alone.

This week we had news that his Oesophageal Cancer has returned after being cancer-free for 10 years. I guess the stress and strain have taken their toll. But Dad is still there alone.

“When we least expect it, life sets us a challenge to test our courage and willingness to change; at such a moment, there

--

--

Bernie Pullen
Hope * Healing * Humour

Life experiences intrigue me. Parenting| bereavement|memoir,|travel writer. I’m a coffee lover, I keep grounded by walking in nature, Tai Chi, and Yoga.