My photo at a horse show in St. Moritz

MINDSET

You Can Create Adventures No Matter What

How the right mindset can create a life of adventure

3 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Being alive is dangerous and always leads to death.

If adventures are unusual and exciting activities, most anything you do can be an adventure if you are enterprising and enthusiastic. Some prefer for an adventure to be hazardous before they will consider it a true adventure.

We often allow our circumstances to limit what sort of adventures we pursue. You might think they dictate what you can and can’t do and sometimes that is the case.

But if you can create a state of mind you call adventure, you will be less limited by your circumstances. Even in the most limiting of circumstances you can have adventure in your life.

As someone who enjoyed adventure travel and sports my whole life, becoming disabled by a stroke when I was 35 might have put a stop to my adventures. But I was too stubborn to allow that to happen and instead used some enterprising strategies to go on the following adventures:

  1. I went on safari in Kenya with my husband and our 2 sons despite having a mobility challenge. I always wanted to go on safari but thought the chance to go might have passed after becoming paralyzed by a stroke.
    Instead of giving up, I…

--

--