5 Orphans, Lonely Dad, Based on a True Story

Writer’s own story from childhood, talking about the tragedy came up to him and his family

Matin Haqshanas
5 min readJan 28, 2024
DALL-E generated

Before starting any topic, I would like to introduce myself briefly so the readers know something about my background so it will be easier for them to know what’s my purpose for writing on this platform.

Who am I?

I am a 25-year-old boy living in Herat, Afghanistan. To begin from childhood, it was somehow a different case that you can imagine in a movie scene: a 7-year-old boy with short happy memories in a populated family as the fourth child of 5. As in childhood, I rarely remember any full memory, but generally, it was all well until one day, while I was studying with my two elder sisters at the nearby Masjid (Mousqe), that suddenly my 13-year-old elder brother reached the door with red eyes. I had never seen him like that before, and he asked permission from the instructor to take us home. On the way, my sisters and I asked him several times what happened. But he would not answer, or perhaps he was unable to do so.
We reached near home; it was not as usual; there was a crowd and noise; I didn’t have any idea yet. When I entered the yard, one of my cousins said with tears, “Your mom has died!”. Her yelling at me and saying that word is unforgettable, and I can still imagine myself at that moment.

Mourning

I entered the house and saw everyone crying and yelling loudly. I crossed the hall and went to our room. I found my mom lying down in the middle of the room, and my aunts and relatives were crying around her. I got closer to her head side and saw her closer, with half-open eyes and a narrow fabric tied up her chin around the head. At that moment, all I was thinking was why her eyes were open, but now I realize they were open, so the last picture I’d remember of her would be a better portrait of the worst memory ever in my life.

What happened to her?

I don’t remember if I cried then, but I’m sure I was shocked. I came back to the hall, entered another room, and found one of my elder cousins lying down in a corner. “What happened to her?” I asked. “She has fainted,” someone replied. It was the first time in my life that I had seen someone faint. Maybe I would have been on the floor instead of her if I had been wiser and knew what a tragedy had happened to me.

A Broken Man

I went to the yard, and everybody was busy with something: some people were making food, some of them were arranging funeral envelopes, and some of them had no idea what to do and chose to keep quiet in a corner. I was looking around, and my eyes fell on my father, seeing him in a mood that only Allah (God) knows what it is. And surely Allah knows the situation of a young man losing his wife, fighting cancer for several years, and leaving five kids behind—the youngest 4-year-old daughter and the eldest 13-year-old son.

Yes, she died of lung cancer. Medications and traveling several times to Pakistan didn’t work. I will never forget one of the mornings I woke up and saw her getting ready to travel to Pakistan. I cried in her arms, and she moved. I never thought sad memories in life would be so precious one day.
I knew that by traveling somewhere, she was away from me, but I didn’t know that by passing away, she would always be away. Because of that, I cried more the day she traveled than the day she passed away. I didn’t even remember if I cried a single drop of tears the days she passed away, because she is still alive in my heart and memory.
It was good enough for me and my elder siblings that we had enough memories with mom. But unlike my little sister, who doesn’t have a single memory as she was 4 when mom died, once she told me I don’t even know how having a mom feels and what it is like, I felt so sorry for her, but that was the destiny God chose for us. We should even be thankful to God because there are people with much more difficulties than what we went through.

Conclusion

I believe people with a difficult past are more likely to become successful people in the future, as they didn’t have much support, so they used to find solutions on their own. Also, I believe what we have gone through was all a test to strengthen our roots and make us stable people in the future.
Therefore, I decided to come up and share my stories—not only my own stories but also self-made stories inspired by imagination and people’s lives’ daily experiences at different ages. I’d like to share my thoughts, ideas, stories, experiences, and poems, and I would like to have people’s comments and feedback on my posts that will make me a better writer over time.

In the end,

I’d like to thank everyone for tuning into this post till now. Also, I invite you to follow me and read my contents that support me through my journey, and I’ll make interesting contents that, after reading them, you’ll achieve something new and not waste a few minutes of time.

Subscribe to get an email whenever I post articles like this!

--

--

Matin Haqshanas

Self-made stories inspired by imagination and people's lives' daily activities, poems, Comparing cultures, lifestyle, fashion, self-development & fitness.