Inner Beauty, Based on a True Story

People can be drawn into your inner beauty while ignoring your outward appearance

Matin Haqshanas
Horizon Hub
5 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

A few years prior, I was seated at a get-together alongside a few of my aunts and cousins. At such kinds of events, a wide range of subjects are being discussed, and the majority of the family participates. As beauty was one of the most talked-about topics, one of my aunts said, “Let me tell you a story.” After a short while, there was a quiet hush over the entire house, and everyone was looking for my aunt to carry on with her story. Starting, she said, “I was in school when I got engaged, and after getting married, I had to move to a new school that was closer to my husband’s house.” Spring arrived, I got married, and I moved to a new school that was near my new home.

The first day of the new year at school. I arrived and walked around the hall looking for my class, which took a while to find. As I approached the classroom, I heard girls chatting about someone who hadn’t been reached yet. They seemed to be concerned about someone, and no one noticed a new classmate entering. When the teacher showed up, no one even paid her any attention. Come into the classroom, girls, and close the door! said the teacher.

After everyone had sat down, the teacher asked, “Where is Maryam? “We don’t know,” all the students said together. We were waiting for her too, one of the girls said, but she hadn’t arrived yet. What if she had switched schools? “No, she didn’t; otherwise, we would know it,” the teacher corrected. Another girl wondered what would happen if she got married and her husband refused to let her continue her education. Another girl responded, “No, it is impossible because she is so enthusiastic about studying and would not marry at this time.” The teacher replied, “Yes, she is correct; if she were to marry, she would invite at least a few of her friends or teachers.” Also, you should stop talking about it because it is still the first day, and she will certainly come up with more days. But she hasn’t missed a single day of school, remarked a different student. Be quiet and open your books, the teacher said.

It was the topic of discussion in class on the second day as well. I couldn’t help but feel jealous of this girl because, in addition to the fact that no one had welcomed me into this class, she was the talk of the school. My aunt went on to say, “As I was younger, I used to fantasize about how beautiful Maryam was and how everyone wanted to see her, or how funny she would be if everyone was smiling as she narrated her memories.

Everyone was praising her, so I was beginning to get interested in seeing her as well, but she didn’t seem to be around every day. The class is a mourning hall. A classmate claimed she never missed a single day of school. In response, I asked, “What if she has been away and is unaware that school is back in session? Maryam’s best friend replied, “Yes, it is feasible because she previously told me that her grandmother lives in the village and that she occasionally visits during the holidays. After saying this, everyone took a deep, comfortable breath, assuring her that everything would be fine in the village.

A few days later, as I was sitting in class with a few new friends, one of the girls exclaimed, “Hey everyone, Maryam has come,” while running in with burned breath. It seemed like everyone in the class went to greet her when she said that, and in a matter of seconds, I was alone by myself. I went to meet her too, and when I got to the yard, she was gone from sight among the girls. After everyone had greeted her and the crowd had dispersed, I noticed an ordinary girl wearing an ordinary outfit among the girls. How could she possibly draw all these girls to her? I thought to myself. She went to the office to meet the staff after seeing everyone. Everyone at the school enjoyed having her around because of her behavior.

She cried, “Wow, we have a new classmate—it's so nice to have you here,” as soon as she walked into the classroom the following session. She may have been the first to greet me warmly thus far. I decided to check her out because I wanted to see what she had and how much everyone loved her. I saw that she knew every student in the school by name as she was interacting with them. Her arms were open to all students, and she acknowledged not just her new classmates but also newcomers to the school. She wasn’t the student with the highest scores, but she was more popular than everyone else. She used to listen to students’ sorrows and anxieties, and everyone would instantly feel better after speaking to her. I noticed that in some cases, teachers and the principal approached her for solutions.

It seems like I finally found out her secret. I’ve never met a more kind-hearted girl than her. Sincerely, she was like a mom to everyone, listening to every single word others said and caring about everyone. She possessed an inner beauty that captivated everyone, and no one paid attention to her appearance or what she was wearing. Everyone will love you back if you show them unconditional care and love. This is the key to attracting others. Comparable to a child who, having experienced her mother’s unwavering love and attention, doesn’t try to transform her into any other attractive woman, even if her mother is not attractive. The child only recognizes her mother’s inner beauty and disregards everything about her appearance, viewing it only as a means of identification.

It is depressing to see how much appearance matters more to people in today’s society than moral principles. We must learn to love and care for others, and this will result in a society with precious values.

Subscribe to get an email whenever I post articles like this!

--

--

Matin Haqshanas
Horizon Hub

Self-made stories inspired by imagination and people's lives' daily activities, poems, Comparing cultures, lifestyle, fashion, self-development & fitness.