Communication Tips for Remote Work

Julia Brown
Horizon Performance
3 min readMar 25, 2020

Remote work involves unique challenges. One of the most frequent issues I’ve heard recently is concerning communication. As a full-time remote worker, I’ve struggled at times communicating with my colleagues. I’ve also worked in the office and seen first-hand the things I miss out on.

Research cited in an article by Harvard Business Review proposed that “mutual knowledge” is the central problem of remote work. Mutual knowledge is information shared among teams of workers and includes contextual information. The lack of contextual information gained from sharing a space can lead to communication and team breakdowns.

For example, if I had a rough morning and walked into the office, most of my coworkers would be able to read my nonverbal cues to know I’m in a bad mood. The same goes for if I’m working frantically to meet a deadline and someone walked into my office to ask a question — they would swiftly turn around. However, without face-to-face interaction, we have to rely on verbal communication to illustrate how we are doing. Fortunately, we have awesome technological solutions that can help us.

1. Instant Messaging. At Horizon, we use Slack to keep in touch. We have multiple channels (i.e. chatrooms) for different purposes. Some are just informal chats, while some are project/team-centered. Slack is a great way to send quick messages.

2. Video Conferencing Tools. While working remotely, Google Hangouts makes me feel part of the team. It helps to increase mutual knowledge by allowing for social cues. It also helps me learn what other people are working on.

3. Phone Calls. I’ve found that when miscommunication seems to be going on sometimes it’s better to go old school and pick up the phone. Don’t spend time trying to clarify yourself online when you can easily pick up the phone to make sure you’re on the same page.

4. Emails. After important meetings or when leading projects with many moving parts, it can be extremely beneficial to sum everything up in an email. Emails are great for information that needs to be referred back to. Just make sure your emails are clear and concise, with specific deadlines, expectations, and delegated tasks to individuals.

Keys to Implementation

You’ve probably heard of and are already using these methods so let me add two keys to implementation that I’ve learned over the years.

1. Schedule structured and unstructured communication time. Structured communication time includes one-on-one meetings to discuss task work. Unstructured communication time involves “catch-up meetings” or “water cooler talk.” Without an office to drop into, or overheard conversations, remote workers miss out on hearing about what other people are doing. Schedule a mix of meetings with a variety of people to learn what’s going on outside of your bubble.

2. Pay attention to individual differences in preferences. There are some people I know will not get back to me if I send them a Slack. There are others who drop everything they’re doing and respond right away (this is not always a good thing). I have to pay close attention to who I contact, how and when. The method isn’t important — it’s the message.

The rapid change to work from home life is affecting everyone differently. Clear and consistent communication can help us to increase empathy towards one another during this time when we need it most. Don’t forget to keep up casual communication habits. Jump on to a meeting early and catch up with your coworkers before it’s started. We can be alone [and productive] together.

--

--