Leading Through Interruptions

Jason Cummins
Horizon Performance
2 min readFeb 13, 2023

In October 2016 the nation lost a golfing legend. Sam Saunders lost a
grandfather.

During his eulogy (available here), Sam described why “Dumpy” Palmer
meant so much to him. Of note, Sam stated, “He would always take my
phone call.”

Sam went onto describe that whenever he called his grandfather,
Arnold Palmer would instinctively ask, “Where are you?” On one
particular occasion, Sam answered “I’m at home,” but decided to turn
the tables and immediately asked, “Where are you?” Dumpy’s response
was classic.

“I’m with the president,” Arnie said.

“The president of what?”

“The United States.”

“Why did you answer the phone?”

“Well, I wanted to talk to you.”

Saunders’ story was personally convicting for me as a leader. If I’m
being honest, there have been, and still are, plenty of times I do not
model to my two sons — let alone to those I’m charged with leading — the
consistent availability Arnold Palmer modeled to Sam. As I reflected deeper, however, I realized my challenge centered on the issue
of interruptions and how I respond to them.

Interruptions can come in many forms, including unexpected events,
unforeseen circumstances, and distractions from daily routines.
Interruptions may range from global pandemics to delayed flights,
suicide terrorist attacks to suicide ideation, unplanned resignations to
unanticipated visitors. As leaders, we must learn how to manage these
interruptions and to continue to lead our teams, organizations, or
communities in the right direction.

Jesus was an oft-interrupted leader. In fact, many of the miracles Jesus
performed were triggered by an interruption. For instance, the feeding
of the 5000 was initially intended to be a remote weekend getaway
with a few close friends seeking a little rest. Turning water to wine was
a last-minute favor for mom, necessitated by poor planning on the
host’s part. Healing the paralytic man only occurred after he was
unexpectedly lowered through the roof. And we could go on and on.

Author and theologian Henri Nouwen perhaps said it best on Twitter
on July 31, 2012, “I used to complain about all the interruptions to my
work until I realized that these interruptions were my work.”

The next time you begin to complain about an interruption, reframe
your outlook and look for the opportunities. While interruptions can be
frustrating to all leaders, interruptions are also the catalyst for
consequence. The impetus for impact. The stimulant for significance.

Ultimately, they are your work.

--

--