Sean Park, Horizons S’16

Quick intro

Horizons
Horizons School of Technology
4 min readJul 19, 2016

--

Your name: Sean Park

Age: 20

Where you’re from: Jinju, South Korea

Where you study: Haverford College

Major: Economics

Three words that best describe you: Humorous, observant, and eclectic.

8 questions for Sean

1. When did you first get excited about the world of tech and entrepreneurship?

The recent trends in music, television, and media in general have spiked my interest in technology. Developments in media platforms as well as improvements in consumer technology have made the barriers between consumers and producers extremely thin. As I have always juggled with the idea of creating and sharing content, I feel that technology has made the past few years an extremely interesting period of time to be alive.

2. Why did you decide to take Horizons and what’s been your favorite part so far?

I decided to take Horizons to develop a habit of applying knowledge and materializing ideas. While I’m grateful for the vast amount of information I’ve been exposed to throughout my years of being a student, I have often felt that I have squandered the concepts I’ve learned due to my inability to utilize them. I applied to Horizons hoping that through the program I’d become more active in making ideas come to fruition. My favorite part of the program so far has been learning the intricate operations behind practical online tools that I have always taken for granted. Talking to numerous people at different stages in life that are learning the same material for different end goals has also been extremely rewarding.

3. What does a successful version of you look like on graduation day? How about two years out of college?

Regardless of success or failure, on graduation day I would be headed to a barber shop to shave my head in preparation for my military service. A successful version of me would head into a training camp without any fear over how I will re-enter society two years from then.

4. Tell us what is one thing you believe is true that most people disagree with (the Peter Thiel question)…

I’ve seen a lot of people around me argue that the things they enjoy or hold dear, whether it be music or familial bonds, have greatly dropped in quality over time. I think that the fundamental cause of people’s displeasure with the passage of time is not fueled by any serious decline in quality but rather society’s tendency to apply old standards to new ideas and attitudes.

5. What has been the most important turning point / realization in your life so far?

The biggest turning point in my life came with the passing of my grandfather. As it was one of my first experiences of bidding farewell to a loved one, I remember trying to be as observant as I can be of how adults coped with grief. For the first and only time in my life I saw my father cry and I thought to myself that not even the most composed person I know is free from the heartache of loss. To my surprise, I saw my father go to work the morning after the funeral exactly the same way he did before my grandfather’s passing. Through the entire experience I learned that growing older, which I assume is almost every child’s dream, means having to experience loss on a constant basis. But more importantly, I realized that the most respectful way to let someone go is by making sure that the efforts of the departed don’t go wasted in the lives that remain.

6. What motivates you to work hard every day?

The thought of one day being able to feed the hands that have fed me and the hands that will feed many more.

7. If you were going to be famous, what would it be for?

In regards to the band Velvet Underground’s debut album, musician Brian Eno said that while only 30,000 copies of the album were sold all the people that bought those copies went on to start a band. Although I won’t reject fame if it ever came to my doorstep, I would always value invigorating ten moving men over being well-known amongst a thousand idle men.

8. What is your advice to incoming freshmen to make the most out of their time in college?

If you are facing heavy competition that makes you doubt your capabilities, it means you are in the right field. Turn the doubt into desire for improvement. So long as you feel there is room for you to grow, keep moving forward. Always remember that it is not the strongest that survive, but those who survive that are the strongest. Plus, don’t forget to take your vitamins. Once you get close to your twenties, your body won’t be the same.

Thank you for reading.

If you found value in this post, please share the love by clicking the ❤ button so more people can see it.

Horizons is a technology school that finds the most promising young people around the world and gives them all the advantages they need to launch their successful careers in tech.

--

--