Zhifan Lu, Horizons S’16

Quick intro

Horizons
Horizons School of Technology
3 min readJul 19, 2016

--

Your name: Zhifan Lu

Age: 21

Where you’re from: Shanghai, China

Where you study: UVA

Majors and Minors: Commerce, Economics

Three words that best describe you: Z= aspiration + bold * inspiration

8 questions for Zhifan

1. When did you first get excited about the world of tech and entrepreneurship?

My passion for technology is the result of a fortuitous combination of factors. I have always enjoyed collecting currencies as a hobby(thus my major in ECON), and during my first year in college, I stumbled upon bitcoin.I was fascinated by the unprecedented virtual currency and even tried to become a bitcoin miner. I soon realized my 4-year-old laptop is no match against professional miners with special hardware. However, I also realized how important technology has become in the world of business and the vast potential behind it.

As for entrepreneurship, i think it is equivalent to leading change. It is both the will and the ability to implement the changes. My experience as an intern at a venture capital firm has taught me everybody can be an entrepreneur, but not everybody is, and in the end the difference is whether he/she is willing to actually do it.

2. Why did you decide to take Horizons and what’s been your favorite part so far?

I decided to take Horizons because of its immersive and intense environment. It is as if I am taking 5 computer sciences courses at the same time. Nevertheless, as a business major, I think it is the only way to level the playing field when competing with CS majors. What’s more, Horizons is able to connect us with many successful entrepreneurs, ranging from global head of creator development & management at Youtube to co-founder of Coinbase, providing us with numerous opportunities in various industries.

3. What does a successful version of you look like on graduation day? How about two years out of college?

To pursue a career in an industry that I truly enjoy.

To have gained enough exposure and experience in the industry so that I can build my own startup.

4. Tell us what is one thing you believe is true that most people disagree with (the Peter Thiel question)…

“Laziness is the Father of Innovation”- Stephen Shapiro

5. What has been the most important turning point / realization in your life so far?

One should always follow his/her heart rather than purely follow the trend that the society sets. For instance, as a business major concentrating in finance, I am expected to work for a bank or other financial institutions. Many finance majors do but they hated it so much. What they failed to realize is that, working for a bank is not the only option for business majors. Personally, as I became more and more passionate about technology, I realized there are much more career opportunities that combine a business background with technology skills and I will actively pursue those opportunities.

6. What motivates you to work hard every day?

To not become the “average” person.

7. If you were going to be famous, what would it be for?

Making everyone lazier by inventing something that significantly simplifies the way people live.

8. What is your advice to incoming freshmen to make the most out of their time in college?

Choose a major that you truly enjoy and have fun!

Thank you for reading.

If you found value in this post, please share the love by clicking the ❤ button so more people can see it.

Horizons is a technology school that finds the most promising young people around the world and gives them all the advantages they need to launch their successful careers in tech.

--

--