Exposed: My Love For Writing Skyrocketed On Medium

Substack may have joined the social media arms race

John Wozniak
Hot Chocolate Soup

--

How do you feel about Medium? Do you feel like you have room to grow on this platform? Medium gives me a sense of freedom, allowing me to explore a vast blank page without judgment. Launching Hot Chocolate Soup gave me an exciting new canvas to write about different subjects, from my insider London series to writing tips. Yesterday, I baked bread and I wrote about it. Delicious! Now you’re probably wondering the meaning of my title? Let me explain why I love writing on Medium.

When you lose your love for writing It’s time to do something different

In 2018/19 I wrote for an American platform, covering the Premier League and National Football League. I remember the anxiety of battling with the SEO plugin, tweaking words constantly to change the traffic light system from red to amber, and finally to green. Ugh! Then there were the demands of the editor. ‘Hey buddy, you’ve only written five articles this week.” Is everything ok?

Going it alone

Over the years, I’ve spent modest amounts of money on Wordpress and Squarespace, two blogging platforms I’ve since abandoned. The rules around blogging have changed. As a domain…

--

--

John Wozniak
Hot Chocolate Soup

Army veteran. Thinker | leader | creator | Mental Health advocate. I am passionate about making a positive impact on the world. Learn | Share | Collaborate