Meet Camila, Director of Technology at Hotels.com

Hotels.com Engineering
The Hotels.com Technology Blog
2 min readDec 18, 2017

What area of Hotels.com do you work in?

The Shopping team within Tech.

What do you enjoy most about working at HCOM?

I enjoy the friendly and collaborative way all the teams have, people are always very receptive to try something new, take feedback, work together to improve things!

Tell us about a project you are most proud of and why?

I am proud of being involved in moving our devops and continuous delivery initiative further and also in being involved in the gender balance initiative here at Hotels.com.

Tell us about a manager who has supported your development? And how?

I have had the pleasure to work with Richard, Senior Director, who didn’t hesitate in putting me forward to take ownership of his area of the business during his secondment, knowing it would stretch my skills and give me the opportunity to grow and be more ready for what may come ahead! This was also supported by his fellow team members and Thierry, CTO!

How do you balance work and life?

I am a very hard worker, I take my job very seriously, but I also believe that you should be able to organise yourself so that you don’t have to keep doing over time in order to keep up with your responsibilities.

I do take advantage of working from home when I need some space to think or get the job done, but also work outside normal hours if I needed to do something personal during the day. It’s all about give and take and making sure you do what needs to be done, you delegate the work to where/whom can do it best and you respect your lifestyle choices whilst still delivering the best value and being proud of what you do!

What is your most memorable travel experience?

I really enjoyed my trip to Iceland, it was such a shock to me coming from Brazil, to see such a different landscape and so many things I have never seen before! I really recommend it!

--

--