Haiku Prompt

Heartlands Call Me Home

12th Feb 2020 Haiku/Tanka prompt “home”

Brett Christensen
3 min readFeb 12, 2020

--

Kangaroo against outback sunset
Image: ©depositphotos.com/ idizimage

Heading to the sun
Big sky dreaming; sacred ground
Heartlands call me home

PROMPT: Write a haiku or tanka using the prompt word “home” (or a derivative).

Recently, life for my wife Deborah Christensen and I took an unexpected turn. Deb has been offered a full-time job in the small town of Longreach in the Australian outback.

So, we are packing up and leaving our gentle little coastal village to head 1000 kilometres into the country’s hard but beautiful desert heartland. This is a radical change for us, but an exciting one as well.

I grew up travelling around Australia and some of my most evocative memories of our travels are set in the outback regions of western Queensland and the Northern Territory.

Heading back out feels like something of a spiritual homecoming for me.

The above haiku is derived from a song I wrote about my memories of travelling in the outback.

About Haiku and Tanka

A haiku is a form of Japanese poetry totalling 17 syllables (in…

--

--

Brett Christensen

I enjoy writing, exploring new tech, and I’m passionate about learning new things.