Tree Graveyard- on Edge of Sea

Deborah Christensen
2 min readJun 25, 2019

--

26 June 2019, Haiku/Tanka prompt word “edge”

Photo by Zach Reiner on Unsplash

Sunbleached hollowed ribs
tree graveyard at water’s edge
smoothed by wind and wave
uprooted trunks lifeless lay
weathered by sun into dust

PROMPT: Write a haiku/tanka using the midweek prompt word “edge” (or a derivative).

For a little bit of extra fun for those of you who are up for it, how about taking the last word from each line of your new haiku/tanka and making another haiku/tanka using these words in the new lines.

So you will end up with two poems — one in response to the prompt word and the second one on any subject.

Look at my new tanka below using the last words of my tanka above.

Graveside Grief

Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

my ribs ache within
as I stand still on grave’s edge
fighting waves of tears -
I just want to lay down now
and let my grief turn to dust

--

--

Deborah Christensen

Artist, Poet, Writer, Loving all things meditation and energy