Blueskysea B1W WiFi Mini Dash Cam Review

iWalkingCorpse
House of the Ryzen Sun
3 min readFeb 28, 2018

Seeing is believing

Safety is paramount, right? Whatever you’re doing you want to be as safe as possible, and in our ever-increasingly complicated modern lives, that’s difficult. During the recent snowfall, I got into a minor traffic accident when someone lost control of their vehicle and slid into me. Now it was all amicable, and we swapped insurance details and that was that. But.. I got thinking — what if it wasn’t so amicable next time? What if next time it becomes a he said/she said type of deal and my insurance provider won’t play ball? It helps to have backup, usually in the form of incontrovertible proof and that’s where the dashcam comes in.

Contents of the box

This one from Blueskysea is based on the Novatek GM8135S processor and Sony IMX323 CMOS high sensitivity image sensor. This is an EXMOR sensor, so allows for high quality recording in day and at night. It’s set up for 1080p 30fps recording in this dashcam, which provides usable, clear footage.

This dashcam continually records to a MicroSD card, and you can press the button on the side to protect a short clip from being overwritten. It also can be set to record audio. It also sets itself up as a wifi access point, so you can connect to it using your phone or other mobile device and connect to it with their phone app, enabling you to see what’s being recorded in real-time, start and stop recording, take individual photos and setup the device according to your needs.

One thing I noticed in my testing is that the device needs either a fastcharge usb connection or the lighter-style car socket for the wifi to function as designed, testing it on a cable plugged into a lower power charger or usb port won’t work. Once I did that, it was easily picked up by my phone and by the app.

Small footprint when installed

All in all, this is well-designed device that does exactly what it says it will do — record your driving as a safeguard in case of the unavoidable happening. I’m glad that it’ll be installed in my car from now on, while I’m a good, careful driver that can’t be said for all road users and accidents do happen.

You can find this item on Amazon

--

--

iWalkingCorpse
House of the Ryzen Sun

I like brains… | #PositivityThroughGaming Advocacy, News and Reviews