Power! We need more power!

iWalkingCorpse
House of the Ryzen Sun
3 min readMay 10, 2017

or Why my fingertips hurt..

Ryzen Enzo in cable sleeving

So my usual schedule got delayed this week, have been burning my fingers (nearly) to the bone to try and get all my sleeving done for this installment. TL:DR is that I vastly underestimated how long it would take, even if picking up the necessary skills didn’t take that long. There’s a lot of thriving after-market cable sellers, and now I understand why. It’s repetitive, it’s tough, and your fingers will burn… lots. That said, it’s incredibly gratifying, not only the process of creating with your hands, but the finished product. Currently I hope to finish the rest of it by next week now I’ve got momentum, but I wanted to make sure to post so I didn’t lose momentum over here.

My writing has been cathartic, and a great way to keep my plans/thoughts/problems both in-mind and in-focus. Thank you, whoever you are, for taking just a few minutes out of your days to follow along with me. I really believe that often the journey is more rewarding than the end. After all, what will I occupy my time with once I’m done?

That said, let’s go back to some hardware, shall we? I finally worked up the courage to remove the heatspreaders on my Corsair LPX DDR4 dimms, and armed with a few quick prayers and a very good guide on Youtube by Peter Brands, I was away.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rSbYrWWalsM

Few heart-wrenching moments when I thought I’d accidentally hit some of the surface-mount components with the knife I was using, and the dimms were ready for waterblocks.

Interesting to see the smaller size of DDR4 modules vs DDR3

And the finished article, with Alphacool NexXxos DDR blocks from ModMyMods. These are really going to pop on the Titanium Xpower X370 board.

Shiny and Chrome!

So I mentioned that I’ve been burning my fingers.. but it’s for a good cause.. Custom cabling really makes custom builds to me. It’s a labor of love and proud as I am with the end result currently, I’m fairly sure that I’ll go back and redo this one once I’ve done all the others and my skills improve. The OEM cables for my psu (EVGA G2 850W) have capacitors on them for ripple suppression, and I wanted my custom cables to have this also. It makes it a little more difficult to sleeve, and I figured out a better way of doing it on the 2nd cable I did, so I want to go back and redo the other one to match.

Those pesky capacitors..
Teleios sleeving from Mainframe Customs
First completed cable with MNPCTECH Billet Combs
Both EPS (CPU) Cables completed

Until next time, Mod On!

--

--

iWalkingCorpse
House of the Ryzen Sun

I like brains… | #PositivityThroughGaming Advocacy, News and Reviews