Photo by Svenja Mueller

Chicago Music Premiere: Luke Henry’s “Cleaning Out My Head” & “Movies”

Dig this dreamy, self-released indie rock

Katie Ingegneri
houseshow magazine
Published in
3 min readApr 22, 2016

--

I first met Luke Henry at Shuga Records in Wicker Park, Chicago, this past summer. He was working there and I was looking for Smith Westerns records, so he asked me if I’d heard of Whitney yet, the inside secret of the Chicago rock scene at the time. He also told me he was a musician. Today, I’m excited to premiere his new single here on Houseshow, “Cleaning Out My Head” and “Movies,” that he is self-releasing. Listen to both songs at the Soundcloud link above.

I’m very much digging these multi-layered, groovy, dreamy indie-folk rock sounds and look forward to his upcoming work.

Photo by Svenja Mueller

In Luke’s words: “This Luke Henry Project has been going on for a couple years. I’ve been writing songs for 4 years and started working with other musicians these past couple years. I self-released an album last fall called ‘American Dreams’ which is online as well. There will be a vinyl for that album out this summer.

Steven Rutledge from Nasty Snacks & Doug Shotwell and the Right Hand Band played drums. Nick Harris aka Ricky Mirage, who plays in Peasantry, Sons of The West, and Mooner played keys (wurlitzer). I played the rest (lap slide, 12 string guitar, bass) and recorded most of it at a Chicago studio I work at as an engineer/assistant called MINBAL. The rest was at home. Dave Vettraino and I mixed it at his place, aka Public House Sound Recordings. He engineered NE-HI’s first two albums (released and upcoming) as well as working with Melkbelly and a bunch of awesome local bands, and plays in The Hecks now.

I just got done playing a little tour in New Zealand where part of my family lives. I am just ending a 4-month trip. When I get back I will continue to work at the Wicker vinyl stop Shuga Records and the studio. I play live with a band doing the Luke Henry songs somewhat regularly and will continue that as well. I am going to start working on a new album next month with a band. I’m dubbing it a southern-glam album but will see if it really pans out that way. Also will have another single out soon called ‘Death To America.’ I also have another acoustic album written that I will start recording in spare time if I find any.”

Keep your eye out for Luke’s upcoming projects!

Photo by Richie Schalin

Follow Houseshow on Facebook for our latest articles and up-to-date happenings on the music & culture scene in Chicago.

If you enjoyed reading this, please click “Recommend” (the heart) below.
This will help to share the story with others.

--

--

Katie Ingegneri
houseshow magazine

Writer, editor, music fan & curator. MFA — Naropa’s Jack Kerouac School. BA — McGill University, Montreal. Founder of Houseshow Magazine.