Houston we have a problem.. PASS Summit is not coming.

Javier Montero
Houston we have not PASS Summit 2020
4 min readJun 15, 2020
Photo by Melvin Thambi on Unsplash

Houston Data Professionals and also the entire Central South area of the U.S. were happy to host the event this November 2020.

When the Pass Summit organization designated Houston as the city to hosted the most important and biggest Data event, I imagined what to do these days in the George R. Brown Center.

I was happy and thinking to meet the most important data gurus and spend at least 3 days in this magnificent event.

Le crème de la crème was expected to come to Houston, the space city was honored and ready to receive this event, and the visitors that this event brought every year.

It is not all bad news the pass summit event will happen but virtually, all of us know the special 2020 year that we are living, many things are changing, and the new normal is making many events happen online or be virtual as you feel more comfortable.

Photo by Edwin Andrade on Unsplash

I am 1000% per 1000% sure that the virtual event will be great and will bring many incredible surprises, the people working behind this event are doing their best effort to bring us a special event and because of this, I know the Pass Summit 2020 will be unforgettable.

I understand the times that we are living and the social distancing is a rule that we need to keep all the time, who knows how many times we will need to live under these social distance rules? and also the unnecessary trips need to be avoided.

The city of Houston is losing something more than just money, the city is losing the opportunity to host the Pass Summit this year, not in Seattle. The space city will have to wait for a new opportunity, I hope this opportunity can be soon, so I have the chance to experience this delightful event in the city where I live.

The event lineup still being the same with the great data professionals talking about data analysis, new technology, and many new products and knowledge that they will share with us, I read a couple of tweets from data professionals like Kevin Kline, Kendra Little, Pinal Dave, Monica Rathbun, and others they are working to bring to us for a great event.

I have a special interest in topics like Azure Analytics, Python Analytics and Power BI for improving my knowledge and skills, I figure the Pass Summit event will focus on the capabilities of Microsoft Azure Artificial Intelligence, the previous event was focused on showing us how the cloud could be a big ally for our companies and work, but now I think they are taking it many steps ahead and the cloud is a reality among us.

Based in the actual situation that we are living, the Pass Summit is a great opportunity to show how we can keep our companies running when they are faced with an unexpected event like Covid-19 and how the Artificial Intelligence can reduce the risk of lockdown and how some things can be moved to automatization using artificial intelligence on the cloud.

The early registration is running and has a reduced price in comparison with the On-Site event, those prices could be a good opportunity to register your team company and spend a good time together watching Le crème de la crème of the data world on the big screen. Registration Here

Hopefully, the space city can host this event in 2021, I am uncertain right now, but I will be waiting to go to the Pass Summit event in my city of Houston.

Thank you for reading my articles, and I pretty happy to write for you guys from the earth to the moon

Houston we have a problem.

See you next time.

If you enjoyed this article, why not follow me to stay up-to-date with the latest news and insights from my blog? You’ll be the first to know about new articles, exclusive content, and upcoming events related to data science.

Click here to subscribe to my newsletter and never miss an update. Thank you for your support!

Best regards,
Javier Montero

--

--

Javier Montero
Houston we have not PASS Summit 2020

As a seasoned Data Engineer & BI Developer, I excel in data warehousing, ADF, Databricks, SQL, & Spark. ❤️ about Python. Follow me on X(Twitter) @dataslugger