Conclusion

(deviantart.com, 2016)

After thorough research on the field of education, combined with a period of observation at a state of the art school in Manchester, it was possible to validate assumptions that were made at the start of the project.

Most students enjoy learning about Digital Media due to the fact that it is close to the dynamics of play. It is a subject that demands doing, exploring, making mistakes, experimenting and practicing. “In fact, our little ones have the impression of continually “making discoveries” in the world about them; and in this they find the greatest joy. They take from the world a knowledge which is ordered and inspires them with enthusiasm. Into their minds there enters “the Creation” instead of “the Chaos”; and it seems that their souls find therein a divine exultation.” (Montessori, 1966) This process is enjoyable to students, as they have a unique opportunity to express themselves, while utilizing hardware and software which are familiar to them.

Digital Media demonstrated to be a good ground for teaching students how to work in groups. The structure of creative teams executing different tasks, such as photoshoots and short videos, was appropriate when clear roles and responsibilities were defined at the beginning of the project. It is possible to establish a connection with Montessori’s concept of liberty and organization of labour, where students should be left free to explore, but with a set of rules decided priorly, which will guide them to a more productive discovery session.

With that being said, Manchester Creative Studio has very fertile ground for the teaching and learning of teamwork. Some base work has already been carried out, but it is necessary to create a habit out of it, so students become proficients at empathising with one another, forming bonds of openness and trust.

The premise that every student is different, advocated by educationalists such as Skinner, Montessori and Robinson, holds true at the end of this study. Every single pupil reacted differently to stimuli in school, showing a diversity of behaviours, desires, ambitions, learning style and pace. This was firmly evidenced by the Industry Report Cards: there were twenty four Year eleven students and none of the Cards looked alike.

If students manage to unite and work together, as it happened in some cases, lessons are usually more enjoyable, both for pupils and teachers. There is less stress involved, as students aid each other and strive for success.

Nevertheless, even when groups are chaotic, when students are aggressive with one another and do not manage to work as a team, a teacher must always be kind. “Kindness consists in interpreting the wishes of others, in conforming one’s self to them, and sacrificing, if need be, one’s own desire. This is the kindness which we must show towards children.” (Montessori, 1966)

Acknowledgements

This project was one of my biggest accomplishments yet. Never have I ever dedicated so many academic words to one subject and I could not have done it without the support of my personal team. Special thanks to:

Mom and dad, for supporting me through every step of this incredible journey that was coming to Manchester, studying at Hyper and developing my IRP. I love you both so much and I’m forever grateful for every opportunity that you have provided me. Thank you for being the absolute best;

The Hyper Island team, especially Judy Spiers, my supervisor who helped me to structure my thoughts and never failed to provide spot on feedback, and Tash Wilcocks, for her apparent never-ending patience;

Every single soul involved with the Manchester Creative Studio, especially Kate Mckelvie and Sarah Mahoney, for letting me into your classes and teaching me so much. You guys were amazing every single day. This was the best work experience ever and I will never forget it. Cheers to Rav Gehlon, who let me into the school in the first place;

Artur Marques, for being the best mentor I could ask for since day one, for pushing me forward and reminding me constantly to FOCUS. Thank you for always being on my corner;

Érika Mendes, for being the best mancunian family I could possibly want. I could not have done this without your daily support and patience;

Nani Accursio and Renata Batistini Yamada, for showing me the true value of teamwork;

Luiza de Souza Aranha, for igniting my passion for education. I can’t thank you enough for that;

Jack Booth, for pushing me through the final stretch and being an amazing inspirational motivator;

And to you, oh dear reader, who has reached this final period.

Next Chapter: Bibliography

--

--