…My Personal Development Plan Doesn’t Need to Be Perfect

Joseph Rios EdD
How Come No One Ever Told Me?
8 min readSep 15, 2020

--

Neon signs of the word PERFECT. Photo by Jonathan Hoxmark on Unsplash

With everything going on in the world right now, how can you put time into a personal development plan? Start thinking about what you can do right here, right now. Kick-off your plans by telling yourself you don’t need to be perfect!

Putting together a personal development plan can seem daunting. It can feel overwhelming to put together a list of personal priorities for the future when the present feels uncertain. How do I know who I want to be six months or a year from now when I am trying to keep myself afloat right now?

I know this from personal experience.

In the last two years, I have had to adjust how I thought about my own personal and professional development. No longer relying on an employer paying for my professional development, or asking me to complete a self-assessment once a year, or even having anyone give me feedback on the work I am doing, I have had to figure out what to do next all on my own.

Coupled with trying to kick-start a new business, manage a never-ending job search, and learning to pivot my skills in the middle of a pandemic — well, it’s a wonder I can look past the next hour much less the next month or more.

But I believe we all have the capacity to at least think about the here and now. We can one thing, something…

--

--

Joseph Rios EdD
How Come No One Ever Told Me?

I believe leadership is the expression of values. Career Coach | Educator | Writer | Social Justice Advocate | Trainer. leadershipandvaluesinaction.com