Julio

While Julio was doing amazing work in my AP Calculus BC class last year, he was also the drum major of our marching band. And he played trumpet and organized the group that recorded a song I wrote for our district Math Night. He currently plays French horn in the UCLA Wind Ensemble. He’s a well-rounded guy who has figured out how to balance different pieces of his life.

Bruce Rhodewalt
How did you…?
6 min readJan 8, 2019

--

What is your name?

Julio Jaimes

When and where were you born?

I was born on March 2, 2000, in Palm Springs.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Cathedral City.

Where did you go to high school, where are you now, and how far are you planning to continue your education?

I graduated from Rancho Mirage High School, and I am now attending UCLA. I plan to continue on and get my masters in aerospace engineering.

Do you have specific career plans?

I plan to work for a company after I graduate, get my masters, and then hopefully pursue a career in research for hybrid propulsion.

Are you politically active?

Yes.

Are you religious?

Yes.

Do you have pets?

Yes.

What are you reading? Watching? Listening to?

I am currently reading The Shining by Stephen King. A bit late, but I am watching “Friends” on Netflix. I listen to jazz, classic rock, classical music, and I am a huge Frank Sinatra fan.

Dust first, then vacuum, or vice versa?

Dust first, then vacuum.

Which is worse: fast in the slow lane or slow in the fast lane?

Slow in the fast lane.

Do you have advice for high-school students who want to pursue the best education they can?

Whatever classes you currently take, whether you feel like it is relevant to your career interests or not, you should be working to be successful. It really helps build a great work ethic. Be involved, ask questions, seek help because there are so many opportunities, academically and financially, and all you need to do is be engaged.

Do you have advice for high-school students specifically about the application process?

The biggest thing about the application process is that not only do you stress about senior year and classes, but you are also having to meet many deadlines and requirements. A planner specifically for application deadlines and requirements will make the process much less cluttering. It is also much easier to start early but do small portions rather than waiting until the last minute, so don’t procrastinate. Don’t be afraid to be honest in your essays and passionately talk about your background, accomplishments, and your goals.

Do you have specific study techniques you’ve used?

Having to study for hours makes me feel like my brain is fried, so I feel that taking a small break after every hour of studying really helps keep you fresh. Planning out specifically what I will study prevents me from aimlessly reading information back and forth. Using multiple sources of information is the best approach to helping me understand difficult material.

How have you managed to balance academics and music throughout high school and college?

The key is time management. I spent countless hours involved with the band and I was able to balance academics and music in high school by not prioritizing one over the other. Of course overall I had to ensure I kept up my grades, but I made sure I spent time practicing and studying to be successful in both. When balancing the two, as well as family, a social life, and my health, I had to be organized and aware of how I managed my time. As I continue music in college, I find myself doing well in my classes because music helps me be mentally involved and take a break from academics.

As a student, do you think music and math have some kind of synergy?

I definitely sense a connection between music and math. Math is the fundamental basis of music theory, both being complex languages. Music can be broken down to numerical structures and patterns that when performed, allow for creative expression.

Do you think public K-12 education is working, or is there something you would change?

K-12 education is giving a great foundation for students but definitely needs some improvement. Standardization is great for ensuring all material is covered, but should allow teachers a bit more freedom to address all learning styles. It also needs more emphasis and support for the arts as this allows students to be involved and create a better learning environment. There should also be more attention towards preparation for the real world. Discussion for financial literacy, career seeking, and other real life situations should be encouraged along with academic classes.

How is college different from what you expected?

College is much more intimidating than expected as it makes students feel vulnerable. Often time students are far from where they grew up and must find a niche. However, students like to help each other out, and all it takes is reaching out and becoming involved.

Are you a different person in college than you were in high school?

I wouldn’t say I am a different person, but I feel my attitude and awareness of myself and others has changed for the better.

Is there a skill you picked up in high school that turns out to be more important in college than you thought it would be? Is there a skill that you thought you would need that turns out to be less important than you predicted?

Learning how to effectively take notes is a lot more important in college than I thought it would be, as it ensures you retain the right information you need, efficiently.

Is there something you did in high school that you might not choose to do if you could go back in time? Is there something you wish you had done?

I would go back to freshman year and not have been so lazy with work and been more organized. I wish I switched from trumpet to French horn freshman year rather than junior year.

Do you have advice for high-school teachers? Counselors? Administrators?

Be aware of what works for students. Don’t force a specific style of notes or purely collaborative work as it only frustrates and restricts their learning capabilities. Also, administrators shouldn’t only prioritize sports; there are many programs besides sports that need your support.

Do you have advice for parents of students?

It is great to hold your children up to an expectation, but don’t hold them back from where they want to attend, whether it is too far or expensive. Instead, teach them to work hard and push them to look for scholarships and other opportunities. Encourage them to be involved in a sport or club or activity and be there to support them.

Do you have advice for students who are about to head off to college?

Be confident. You will be in a new environment and will feel scared, and sometimes you will feel like you aren’t as good as your peers. However, you were admitted for a reason and are there to learn and enjoy yourself just like everyone else. Don’t be afraid to say hello to a stranger, meet new friends, and join clubs. Extra activities are the best way to meet friends and have a great time in college, allowing you to take a break from classes, so go out and look for something that interests you.

Are you enjoying college?

I have definitely been enjoying college. I have met new friends, been playing with the UCLA Orchestra and Wind Ensemble, and have been working on making hybrid fuel rockets with like-minded students.

What accomplishment in your life are you most proud of?

I am most proud of being admitted into UCLA and being a first-generation college student. My parents have sacrificed so much for our future, leaving behind their country and working intense jobs. Being able to attend college makes me proud that I have achieved what my parents hoped for.

Rank in order of importance: money, fun, love, security.

Love, fun, security, money.

--

--

Bruce Rhodewalt
How did you…?

I am a math teacher in California, ukulele and guitar player, songwriter, fan of the outdoors, father of Amelia and Keith, and husband of Janet.