HOW I RECENTLY DEMONSTRATED A GROWTH MINDSET

aime malaika
How I demonstrated Growth Mindset recently
3 min readFeb 25, 2022

Carol Dweck, a Stanford University professor, invented the term “growth mindset.” In her book Mindset: The New Psychology of Success, she defined mindset as a perception or notion that people have about themselves. She went on to say that mindsets can be classified into two types: growth mindsets and fixed mindsets. People with a fixed mindset believe their basic qualities, such as intelligence or talent, are just fixed traits, whereas people with a growth mindset feel their basic qualities, such as intelligence, are only beginning points that may be developed upon.

When I received the Bootcamp assignment, which consists of two tasks, I had conflicting feelings about it — a sense of accomplishment that I had made it this far, but also apprehension about how I would finish the challenge given that I had never developed a full-stack application before.
I realized that the first step in solving a problem is to comprehend what the problem is, so I read the project rubrics several times until I could connect with them.
The following step was to create a mock-up of the UI (User Interface).
I went to many websites in an attempt to glean ideas from them.

I was able to come up with something basic to start with after utilizing various search terms related to the topic.
During the design phase, ideas and difficulties on how to execute certain features I had already mocked-up or some that came up on the fly continued to come in.
For example, I wanted to construct a responsive, scrollable table; a quick search on w3schools got me there, but I still had to refactor some things.
If you’ve ever developed a website, you’ll know how vital it is to write media queries that scale on all devices, especially nowadays.
On the fly, I learned how to write media queries.

When I received the Bootcamp assignment, which consists of two tasks, I had conflicting feelings about it — a sense of accomplishment that I had made it this far, but also apprehension about how I would finish the challenge given that I had never developed a full-stack application before.
I realized that the first step in solving a problem is to comprehend what the problem is, so I read the project rubrics several times until I could connect with them.
The following step was to create a mock-up of the UI (User Interface).
I went to many websites in an attempt to glean ideas from them.

I was able to come up with something basic to start with after utilizing various search terms related to the topic. During the design phase, ideas and difficulties on how to execute certain features I had already mocked-up or some that came up on the fly continued to come in. For example, I wanted to construct a responsive, scrollable table; a quick search on w3schools got me there, but I still had to refactor some things. If you’ve ever developed a website, you’ll know how vital it is to write media queries that scale on all devices, especially nowadays. On the fly, I learned how to write media queries.

I’m sure more errors and glitches will appear, but the never-say-die attitude will and should always reign supreme, as Poet Samuel Back famously stated, “Ever tried, ever failed, no matter try again, fail again, fail better.”
Thank you, Andela, for this amazing learning opportunity that forced me to step outside of my comfort zone and do things I never thought I’d do!

--

--