How I TRAINed to learn Rails

A Guide to Learning Rails in 2 months

Richardson Dackam
Ruby or Rails

--

Although I learned a few programming languages in the past, I had absolutely no experience with them except for Visual Basic, which is barely considered a language. I learned rails the hard way: 18 hours every day for 2 months. No sleep, no partying just pure hard coding. I forbade myself to watch TV, movies or even youtube videos if it wasn’t related to coding. Everything I was doing or reading was for that only purpose: “Becoming a senior developer ASAP”. I was rusty and although I had played with Html/Css before, I felt that I needed to review everything. So I started by reviewing the basics (HTML5, CSS3) and playing with it. You’ll need these basic skills to learn rails.

NO! Don’t Learn Rails before Ruby

When you decide to learn a language there are always mistakes that you make and realize later on as you are getting more experienced. Knowing what those mistakes are can allow you to save a considerable amount of time.

When I first decided to learn Ruby on Rails. I read a few articles by different bloggers that were saying that you don’t need Ruby to learn Rails. I now totally disagree with them! Take it from someone who initially took that path. I realized a bit later what was wrong with that approach. The first sentence about rails on Wikipedia says “Ruby on Rails, often simply Rails, is an open-source web application framework which runs on the Ruby programming language”. This simple sentence…

--

--

Richardson Dackam
Ruby or Rails

Building and maintaining apps while teaching the process with systems you can steal. | Learn to build apps @ richdackam.com | Build one @ Richdx.com |