How not to get screwed by your client when you’re contracting

I got screwed by ContactMonkey.com and its founder. This is an article about how you can avoid this from happening to you.

Richardson Dackam
Ruby or Rails
Published in
8 min readOct 3, 2016

--

ContactMonkey, currently owes me a large sum of money that they refuse to pay, because they don’t plan to use my code. That’s unfair, I know but even worse; The problem is that they did use some of the code I built for them:

The feature I built for ContactMonkey

Why did they refuse to use my code?

Because they said that they’d noticed one security issue in it. This really matter because it asked this important question:

Should developers not be paid for their time when there’s a bug?

I believe that no developer write bugs intentionally. This is part of the development process. Bugs happen and even the best companies with the best engineers have to fix them. This is inevitable:

--

--

Richardson Dackam
Ruby or Rails

Self-taught Developer, Startups Founder, Crypto Enthousiast