7 pick-me-ups that cost nothing

How I Money
How I Money
Published in
2 min readMar 19, 2021

Particularly — but not only — during the pandemic, I’ve found myself buying something to give myself a quick pick-me-up, a little dose of stimulation or excitement or just change, especially when I’m bored. I’m working to break this habit, because frankly spending money on stuff I don’t need isn’t really a great coping strategy (even if it is a very human thing to do).

In that spirit, I’m writing this post as much for myself as for anyone, because I think it’s worth reminding ourselves that are other avenues for quick bursts of enjoyment available to us other than spending money.

  1. Take a quick stretch break. Yoga with Adriene is a favorite for this, but I find even just doing some downward dogs can help me stretch out my back and get some blood flowing again.
  2. Message an old friend. There’s some interesting research suggesting caring letters can help people cope with depression. This makes sense to me. Everyone wants to feel like they matter, after all. But I also get some joy out of *sending* these kinds of emails or DMs as well.
  3. Jumping jacks. Straight up, I hate jumping jacks. I’ve mentioned in other places on this blog that I’m lazy. I really really am. But! I admit that getting just a tiny bit of cardio helps me feel a little more engaged. (To be fair, my enjoyment might mostly come from when the cardio break is over.)
  4. If you have a cat or other pet, I really cannot recommend enough telling them that they are very good and very sweet and so adorable and much beloved.
  5. Rummage through your cabinets and closets and pick out some stuff to get rid of. This gets you doing something physical and also something that, long-term, gets you more space and less clutter in your life. It also makes the things you do have and use and want to use more accessible, because you won’t have to push out those old ugly sweaters or random plasticware tubs without the lids out of the way.
  6. Take a quick language break. There are a ton of free resources out there to learn a new language. Twitter accounts, YouTube accounts, apps like Duolingo, online newspapers and more are all make language learning more accessible than it’s ever been. Take five minutes and learn how to order your coffee in Japanese, or ask for directions in French, or get to the train station in Swahili.
  7. Visit (in person or virtually) your local library. I cannot say enough about how much I love the public library. I know I am fortunate to have the excellent New York Public Library available to me, but wherever you live, it’s worth taking a look at what they have to offer. Sure, they have books, music and movies. But what about different kinds of learning resources, including for kids now doing distance learning? Or test prep materials, like the SATs? Pre-covid, the NYPL offered walking tours of some of their buildings — there’s a lot of great history in the institution.

--

--

How I Money
How I Money

45-year-old New Yorker working on her finances. Trying to have my cake and eat it, too.