Prep for coding bootcamp (Part 1)

Srdjan Coric
Srdjan Coric
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2017

If you decided to join Launch School bootcamp, registering through this link will get you 50$ that you can use to pay for subscription.

So, you have decided to join one of the bootcamps? Good for you! You are going to be poorer for x amount of $$$…

Nah, just kiddin’. I wouldn’t fool you, I like you. You are actually reading my stuff. Consider that money investment in yourself and don’t look back.

I’ve talked a bit about choosing bootcamp so I am not going to repeat myself, and like I told you before, I suck at marketing, I am probably doing anyone disfavor by promoting them. So, let’s conclude that you have decided to join certain bootcamp and now you are doing prep work.

Whatever your options was, my coding related advices will be centered around Ruby as back-end program since that is the one I am learning. Now, all of you guys and girls who are learning some other back-end program don’t go in despair. This first part will actually be helpful to you too, so without further ado…

You have two choices when prepping for bootcamp. You can do the minimum required work to get in or you can overkill it and do much much more, and I strongly suggest second option. Wait what?! Am I crazy?! Am I really suggesting doing more work when you can do less?! Yes, I am probably a bit crazy, and another BIG YES, I am suggesting you to do more work in prep and you should do it for one simple reason. You are not paying anything while in prep, so you are saving your hard earned, or easily borrowed money…

I can hear some of you disbelievers saying, wait, now he is suggesting to stick with free option and before he was suggesting to pay, isn’t it contradicting? Well, to that, my answer is yes and no. I am suggesting payed option because you need structure, so you don’t get side-tracked and so that you learn web developing as fast as possible. i want you to succeed my friend. No hidden agendas here.

On the other hand, prep work material that I am going to suggest will have certain outline and will overshoot prepwork material of basically every bootcamp in depth, and it will also be easy enough so that you don’t get overwhelmed which is very important in the beginning.

It won’t be a magic bullet for sure. Lot of coding is ahead of you, but that is the fun part and you should look forward to it…

--

--