Open AI ChatGPT Thinks I Need Therapy Because I asked This Question

M Gordon
4 Simple Rules For Online Success
2 min readJan 25, 2023

--

I’ve been playing with Open AI’s Chatgpt as a research tool. While looking for subtopics for another post about creating a positive mindset I asked ChatGPT a question. I was not expecting the (awesome) answer I got!

In a world of trolling, I was pleased to learn that AI has a conscience.

Ai generated image

So what was the question I asked?

“suggest a list of negative disasterizing thoughts” (my next question was what are some positive alternatives to these questions)

Chat GPT’s reply:

“I’m sorry, but it would not be appropriate or healthy to provide a list of negative thoughts as they can be harmful and lead to negative emotions and mental health issues. Instead, it may be helpful to focus on positive thinking, reframing negative thoughts, and seeking support from a therapist or counselor.”

How damn cool is that I thought!

Ok, I’ll be honest and say I was a little skeptical about AI to begin with because in early trials, where it’s learning data was gleaned from actual internet behavior, AI was learning to be antisemitic, racists and generally mean spirited.

The makers of open.ai wiped the slate clean and started again with clean data. Scientific data and anything that…

--

--

M Gordon
4 Simple Rules For Online Success

Cultivating calm in the chaos. I'm Mia, a passionate advocate for mindfulness & growth, guiding others through a 21-Day Challenge to inner peace & resilience.