Selected Scenes From “It’s a Wonderful Heist”

DIE HARD comes to Bedford Falls

Matthew David Brozik
How Pants Work
Published in
4 min readDec 23, 2019

--

EXT. STREET — EVENING

Through falling snow, we see a large truck drive past a two-story building with a sign on it reading: BAILEY BROS. BUILDING & LOAN ASSOCIATION.

INT. OUTER OFFICE BLDG. & LOAN

GEORGE BAILEY, a young man, stands near a door marked “WILLIAM BAILEY, PRIVATE,” trying to hear what is going on inside.

INT. BAILEY’S PRIVATE OFFICE

At his desk sits UNCLE BILLY, a very good-humored man of about fifty, in shirt-sleeves. There are pieces of string tied around two of his fingers, obviously to remind him of things he has to do. Across from him sits HANS GRUBER, impeccably dressed, lean and handsome.

HANS
Mr. Bailey, we could discuss mortgages and charities all day, but I’m afraid I am more interested in the eight thousand dollars in cash you have in your safe.

UNCLE BILLY
I don’t have that combination! I did… I had it on a piece of paper on my desk last night before closing up… but now…

HANS
Did you put the paper in your pocket?

--

--