“Women should not be smart because men don’t like intelligent women.” — This is what I was told growing up.

Janice Ng
How to Be a Good* Girl

--

I got frustrated.
I felt limited.
I thought I was not “good.”
That I was not good enough.

Growing up in a traditional Asian family, I was told to be a “good” girl. Being a “good” girl meant listening and following what society says a girl should be. I always tried to be that “good” girl, but I have never been truly myself.

For more than twenty years of my life, my values, beliefs, and worldviews were constructed by what I perceived to be true — Women are meant to serve men.

Influenced by strong women, thought-leaders, and feminists, I finally recognized:

I can take risks.
I can speak up.
I can lead.
I am Good* enough.

I had never known I could think or act this way as a female. The problem of gender inequality has existed for years, and gender stereotypes are deeply ingrained in both eastern and western societies. Research shows:

Sources: Girls’ Attitudes Survey. Girlguiding, 2017. Change It Up! What Girls Say About Redefining Leadership. Girl Scouts of the USA, 2008.

Saying NO to gender stereotypes empowered me to write this book.

With this realization, I started writing and designing a colorful children’s book called “How to Be a Good* Girl.” My mission is to inspire young girls to identify and overcome gender stereotypes.

My book gives them a creative and safe place via guiding questions to express how they feel about stereotypes. Its purpose is to inspire young girls to stand up for themselves and others while encouraging parents to support their children no matter who they are or who they want to be.

Let’s end gender stereotypes now.

I am incredibly passionate about helping girls around the world with something I have struggled with for most of my life.

I believe in speaking out when systems want to oppress groups and keep communities from thriving.

This has encouraged me to share a part of myself, to show you why I started creating this book. There are millions of women out there who have gone through the same struggles as me. It is not just my book; it is their book, too.

As a full-time designer, I strive to lead and partner with communities by designing tools to elevate their pains. I hope everyone, especially women and minorities, will be encouraged to speak up and will inspire other women to do the same.

I am currently working to publish a newer version of this book for adult women called How to Women*”. If you believe How to Women* is necessary, please consider supporting it in a way that works for you:

Feel free to reach out to me at ntcjanice.zine@gmail.com.

Thank you for all women being strong and brave.

--

--