I Expected to Come Home, but Home Was Now Somewhere Else

Returning home after living abroad felt different than I had anticipated.

Gracia Kleijnen
How To Be A Human
Published in
6 min readSep 17, 2020

--

Skyline of highrise buildings in Beijing, China.
Beijing, China — Photo by zhang kaiyv on Unsplash

The best five months of my life took place in Beijing, China during my exchange abroad.

I got lucky, since the uni was in the middle of closing new partner deals with schools in China, and I was right on it. I spent around one year preparing everything for this grand journey. Visa, documents, insurances, vaccinations, all of it. My intentions and goals beforehand were clear:

  • To get my university credits
  • Study the language
  • Learn about the culture through immersion and weekend trips
  • Take dance classes

This made deciding what to do with the limited time there easy. Since it was already decided, there were no trade-offs to make.

I remember the day clearly when I left my home country to live on the other side of the world for five months. How indecisive I was when stuffing my suitcase and running late. Nervously waiting at the gate, feeling relieved and excited as the stewardess let me pass through the final check-in. I remember the man on the airplane next to me, who poked me with his elbow each time he shifted his seating position. I was seated in the…

--

--

Gracia Kleijnen
How To Be A Human

Google Sheets & comic creator. Words on productivity, self-development, relationships & mental health in 49+ pubs. 2x Author. https://linktr.ee/graciakleijnen