Why Communication Is Key In The Business World

Dominic Parisi
Business Communication Skills
2 min readSep 22, 2017

My name is Dominic Parisi and I am researching the skill of communication and how it can enhance people skills in the world of business. This is an essential skill to have because communication is how everything is done in business, from negotiating to prospecting to training new employees. How you communicate with customers and co workers is vital to how well both you and your company will perform. That is why this is of particular interest to me because I want to be able to effectively communicate with other business leaders.

This skill not only benefits myself, but every other person who wants to be able to communicate and negotiate with others in business. This relates to my philosophy of work because when people understand how to communicate in business it makes their job easier and in turn makes their life less stressful. If you don’t know how to communicate properly, you risk losing deals, losing negotiations, losing business, money, and possibly even your job. When work is stress free, or at least a minimal amount of stress, people’s livelihoods outside of work improve as well.

I know how to communicate with others pretty effectively because of the way I’ve tried to study and learn how certain people act, feel, or say things that might hint at what they’re really thinking without trying to say. Also, studying one’s body language is very important when trying to understand them. I’ve spent a lot of time working on people skills so that when I have a conversation with someone I know what to say and what not to say, especially if that conversation is about me trying to gain something.

What I’d like to know more about is how communication can influence business negotiations. I’m going to spend the next two weeks working on this by going on business meetings with my dad at work, paying close attention to how he brings certain topics up to customers and what he says to try and influence them to gain their business. I will also practice this myself by engaging in conversation with them and putting what my dad has showed me into action when negotiating with others in the business world.

--

--