How to Meal Plan

A Guide for Busy Moms and Home Cooks

Saleena Sharp - Homemaker Blog
How To Diaries
6 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

Are you a busy mom, a home cook in training, or just someone looking to make mealtime less chaotic and actually enjoyable? Well, you’ve come to the right place. Today, we’re diving into the art of meal planning — a strategy that is going to completely change how you think about dinner.

I personally love to cook! I have been doing it since I was little and now that I have my own bonus littles to cook for/with, I love it even more! But even for someone like me who has always loved cooking at home, when I first moved out, the idea of making, and THINKING, about what to flipping cook made me hate going to the kitchen. BUT when I started learning how to meal plan, I actually enjoyed the kitchen again! I enjoyed cooking again! I wasn’t mad anymore after spending 20 minutes just deciding on what to have! And I wasn’t making late night, last minute grocery trips!

Before we even get into how to meal plan, let me debunk one misconception about meal planning: most people think that meal planning is to eat healthier. No! I mean yes, but no! If that is your goal, then absolutely plan meals like that, but for a busy bonus mom who is just trying to plan dinner for her picky kids and hungry husband, my only goal is to plan balanced meals that they will actually eat!

Why Meal Plan?

  • To Save Time: Imagine a world where you spend less time wondering what to cook and more time actually enjoying your meals. There will magically be no more “Mom! What’s for dinner?” I know that sounds like a dream right?
  • To Save Money: Wave goodbye to impulsive takeout orders and last-minute grocery runs. Meal planning is your financial ally, ensuring you buy only what you need, reducing waste, and keeping your wallet happy.
  • Balanced Meals: With meal planning, you’re the nutritionist of your kitchen. You get to ensure that every meal is a balanced act of proteins, veggies, and other goodies, leading to healthier eating habits for you and your family. My goal is always to ensure we have a meat (when desired), a vegetable, and a starch/protein.

How To Meal Plan! My Strategy:

  • Step 1: Pick what day is best for you to meal plan. My weeks start on Monday so Sundays are my reset days. Sundays I deep clean our home, plan our week, and meal plan! You need to decide what days work best for YOU.
  • Step 2: figure out what you are going to use to plan your meals. I have a meal planner that I laminated, added magnets to, and keep on my fridge for easy changes and less paper waste! I get mine HERE.
  • Step 3: plan your week! I always plan my week before meal planning. Those late night practices and errands affect what dinner is going to be so I need to plan that first. After I have that done I go to my meal planner and write to the left of my days what is going on so I can see when the best nights are going to be for the crock pot and left overs!
  • Step 4: check the weather! I know this sounds silly but I always check the weather. My hubby works outside so in the winter, on those harsh cold days, I like to plan comfort foods for dinner so he can come home to something comforting that warms him up! In the summertime I like to see when we are going to have beautiful evenings so he can come home and use his grill!
  • Step 5: Take Inventory: Start by checking what you already have. This helps in using up what’s available and avoiding unnecessary purchases. The fridge is where perishable foods die first so you want to check there to start. After the fridge, check the freezers, then the pantry.
  • Step 6: Choose Your Meals: Refer to where you keep all your favorite meals and start planning. I always ask the hubby and kids first if there is anything they have been craving so I can add that in first! Then I use a combination of my meal planning binder, Pinterest, TikTok, and my cookbooks to plan our weeks.
  • Step 7: Make a Grocery List: Once you’ve picked your meals, list out the ingredients needed. I start with Monday’s dinner first then go down the list. I find that when I try to mass produce a list, I only put one serving of groceries on there, not more as needed. What if I only plan for one night of chicken but we are eating chicken three times that week? Now I’m making two runs to the store and we don’t need that.
  • Step 8: Set Aside Time for Prep: A little prep goes a long way. Chop veggies, marinate proteins, or even cook some parts of the meals ahead of time. You do what is going to work best for you! I have seen moms who only make crock pot meals so on her Sunday she sets up seven one gallon ziplock bags and prepares all her meals. So when that day comes, she just dumps it in the crock pot, turns the knob, and goes on!
Meal Planning Binder Table of Contents

The Meal Planning Binder: The Secret Weapon You Need

Thanks to resources like my Meal Planning Binder, which boasts over 500 dinner ideas for all seven days of the week, quick dinner ideas, and lunch ideas for kids and your husband, you’re never short of inspiration. This binder is not just a tool; it’s your culinary companion, ensuring variety and excitement in every meal. I printed mine out, laminated it, and added it in a binder, so every week I just use a dry-erase marker to circle what I want and add notes! Get yours HERE!

Here is an example of my family meal plans that I create:

Tips for Successful Meal Planning

  • Be Flexible: Life is unpredictable. Have some backup quick-fix meals for those extra hectic days. Don’t stress if you have to change the menu! That is what it is there for! It is not set in iron honey! There are some weeks that Friday’s dinner simply looks more appealing than Tuesday’s! Switch them!
  • Involve the Family: Make meal planning a family activity. Let everyone contribute ideas, making it a fun and inclusive process. Like I stated above, I always ask the hubby and kids first what they are craving!
  • Embrace Leftovers: Cook in batches and repurpose leftovers. Today’s grilled chicken can be tomorrow’s chicken salad.

Meal planning isn’t just about organizing your kitchen; it’s about reclaiming your time, saving money, and embracing a healthier lifestyle. It’s a tool that transforms chaos into harmony, one meal at a time.

Thank you so much for reading! I hope this helps you! I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

For more insights on budget-friendly dinner ideas, easy dinner recipes, dessert recipes, meal plans, and the myriad of health benefits offered by natural foods, don’t forget to follow Homemaker Recipes. I’m here to help busy moms, health enthusiasts, and everyone in between discover the joys and benefits of home cooking! Home is where the best things are made!

--

--

Saleena Sharp - Homemaker Blog
How To Diaries

Wife & bonus mom! Helping you learn how to cook, meal plan, give endless recipes, and heal your family with naturally remedies! Helping make your house a home!