What do I want to eat at MTSU?

Kayla Wilson
How to Do True Blue
4 min readDec 6, 2017

Whether or not you’re an incoming freshman, second semester at MTSU, or even in your last year at MTSU, food will always be in your mind. Food is the way we manage to get through the life of college. MT Dining is your food experience on campus away from your parents. A college food experience is a little scary without your parents’ guidance. When it comes to food you have many questions: What is open?, What are my choices?, Are they close?, and etc.

Before my first day of college, I heard all the rumors of the ‘freshman 15’. It is a saying around the United States that during your first year of college you will gain 15 pounds. I was guaranteed I was not going to be a victim of it.

The night before my first day I went to a grocery store. I bought healthy food to pack in my brand new MTSU lunchbox. I got lunchables, vegetables, some granola bars, and a random assortment of other goodies. This works for about a week or two.

After a week or so, I began to forget my lunches. This was a problem as I had long days at school plus having to go to work right after. I started to get snacks out of the vending machines; which then led to going around campus to eat.

As a freshman at MTSU, the only food area I knew was the food court in the student union. I also only heard from people talking about the Chick-fila in the KOM. It took me awhile to even be familiar with walking to my classes. Knowing where every food place was located would just be more stress thrown at me.

Then I got introduced to the MTSU Mobile App. The app which has quick links and resources for MTSU students. The app has your schedule, shows you bus routes, and also locations of the buildings where there is an open food court.

I quickly taught myself how to use the MTSU app. Learning from experience, I thought if you knew more information then it would make your freshman year easier. The app is easy access because most of us students have a smartphone.

Looking at the app for the first time, I thought ‘wow’ this is a lot of information. I have slowly found new stuff of it as the days go by. I use the dining tab to help me located the buildings containing MT Dining and also to be aware of the hours.

Once you click the ‘dining’ tab, it will list you all the building with quick descriptions of what it contains or where it is at. For example the Student Union Food Court has a list of the restaurants in this area along with information on what payment they accept.

When you click the dining option of your choice, it will take you to a more detailed. For example the KUC Grill will show you the restaurants in this are also the hours of operations. It goes in detail of the holiday hours along with hours throughout the week.

If you notice in the top right corner, there is a button that says ‘map it’. If you click this button, it will pull up a map of where you are and the desired food court. This will make it easier to make a decision of where to eat depending on the distance and time you have before your next class.

There are so many more cool and helpful features on the MTSU APP like: never forgetting what classes you have this week, never having to wait in the cold or rain for the bus, and never having to look like the lost freshman. I hope reading this helped you decide where to eat at MTSU. I also hope the MTSU app makes it a lot easier and helps you answer all your questions.

MTSU Mobile Middle Tennessee State University, 2016. Vers. 3.5.3. Apple App Store
http://www.mtsu.edu/mobile/index.php

(Needs further grammar corrections as well as another check for sentence fluidity. I’ve corrected about half of the page but it isn’t complete. -A fellow student)

--

--