How to Deal with Ignorance in a Long-Distance Relationship

I’m already used to being ignored for a day, but should I be?

Graceygee
Published in
5 min readMar 19, 2021

--

Photo by Kevin Escate on Unsplash

When in a long-distance relationship, the balance of communication can be hard to find. For example, if you are working, then you aren’t going to be texting all day long and will probably call in the evenings.

How to deal with ignorance in a long-distance relationship involves understanding, patience, dedication.

I know this because I’ve done it before and am now in a long-distance relationship with the guy I met in the mental clinic. He is still there. So I know his routine off the back of my hand, plus I know how boring it can get there (especially without me by his side!). But he still manages to ignore me. Does it make me angry? Kind of.

Yet I’ve learnt some ways to deal with it so you can too.

Be patient

The test of good manners is to be patient with the bad ones. Solomon Ibn Gabirol

First and foremost, the trick on how to deal with ignorance in a long-distance relationship is patience. Sometimes your partner is doing something or going through something that maybe you can’t solve. Hard to accept, I know.

--

--

Graceygee
Brighter Every Day

Tea addict, yoga teacher, well-being coach, passionate writer spreading peace. No-BS advice: focus on well-being. https://www.instagram.com/graceygrossmann/