Sauti Sol — Sofia

A trickle led to a deluge that somehow left you dry… or is that yet another lie?

Just Me
How to Dream Awake
2 min readMay 9, 2021

--

You'll remember me, not for what I said, but for what it meant,
You'll remember not my words, but their extent,
The length and breadth of my willingness to still love an oppressor from a distance shall never relent,
But, as a valiant survivor of the depth of your emotional incompetence,
I'll leave your realignment to the fates,
Apologising in advance if it involves any torment.

In the life I have lived,
Hell and heaven have been merged and both offer only passing reprieve,
Yet somehow, I emerged able to trust.
To see that misconstrued for subservience and ignorance has made me laugh,
To hear the belated sniffles and feeble attempt at finding a comeback,
Was probably the most ridiculous episode of Unchecked Privilege, featuring a truly class act...
What’s veritably sad,
Is that words and fancy elevators, not actions, were what you invariably chose to escape your lack.

In hindsight, I have no doubt that the haze you daze yourself with,
Is the same one that instigated the craze that is the way you behave.
An exceptional ability to selectively and arbitrarily disregard the 'e' in humane,
While also finding bafflingly frail excuses for your blindness to the inherent me in them,
Seems to be your only claim to fame.

I trust that life shall show you a thing or two before you find yourself in the inane,
But rest assured that the choice to find the bit of yourself in others you treat as mundane,
Will come not by land, sea or plane,
But by the choice to put chest to blade,
And cut through the morass of your self-imposed aloofness to the quick that is your pain.

M(in)e to perpetuity,
Just Me.

--

--