Sauti Sol — Afrikan Star ft. Burna Boy

In this tale of artful seduction we hear the narratives of interracial, cross-cultural love for billions of people in the world today.

Just Me
How to Dream Awake
2 min readJan 29, 2019

--

⚫️
⏯ ➡️ 📖

If you could take a second to hear yourself disappear in these silky riffs,
Hear your essence flow into oneness with the universe,
At once complete within it as you are without it,
Separated but unified in the shape of the sweetest blend,
Pure harmony, magnificent in its infinite shine,
Blinding in its ability to define,
Crippling with its power to bring down,
Addling with its scintillating ability to disintegrate…

Just living because you leave me in your wake and I am dust before your indiscriminate ability to segmentate.
Your ways of making me shake from excitement have an end — that begins with my inherent need to appreciate what I see before me.

I want you to be as satisfying as these incomplete missives to your perpetuity.
I want to feel you infinitely in your never-ending multitudes.

You are beyond anything I ever say,
You are so much more than what they never said you were,
If I could cry the tears for you Mama Afrika,
For your aching souls in a digitised, cannibalistic world,
If I could say how much pain you have endured,
And make it all okay in those words of solitude,
If that empathy were truly enough to affect the course of our afflictions!

I would do it all without a moment’s hesitation,
Take no notice of how quickly I will come to your rescue or how slowly I will leave your captivation,
Take no time to pay attention to any of the moments I put forever down for your now,
Just see that I am here.
None of where you’re from or what you did matters,
Not to me.
Not in a million.
Not in a billion.
Never.
As incoherently incomprehensible as my very diction.

In the end there is so much I want to say to you,
So many tears I wish I could dab away from your face,
Even as I cry my own, I know I can never fully atone,
Being me comes with a price that always leaves a foul taste,
But how else can anyone be in this world so filled with the untrue.’

Just Me

Artists: Sauti Sol, Burna Boy
Release: Afrikan Sauce
Original Lyrics

--

--