Sauti Sol — Melanin ft. Patoranking

The pain of leaving you is not in knowing that you will never be back, it is in knowing that in this moment, you cannot see that. That by being so, you never really were here to begin with… but you always were.

Just Me
How to Dream Awake
Jan 28, 2019

--

‘When I see you look at me inadvertently,
Knowing that I see you and acknowledge the eternity that is your ether,
I accept that I too have a part to play in this encounter,
I purpose to come closer,
I engage in this dance of chemical cascades,
Electrical charades raise ecstatic pylons of our attention,
I am lost in your very lack of definition,
By your inimitable infinitude,
I find an inexplicable solitude,
One that balances the noises within my own chaos,
Balances my darkness with just the right shades of sunrise,
Kisses my pain with just the right bites of pleasure.

Stabs away my inherent ability to be vain,
by showing me my commonality so eschewed,
Take me back to me.
Take me back to this beauty,
that so became the point of all my sin,
Take me back to my blackness within,
Take me to my melanin.’

Just Me

🌴

Artists: Sauti Sol, Patoranking
Release: Afrikan Sauce
Original Lyrics

--

--