What type of learner are you?

JT
How to Fail at Business
2 min readOct 20, 2020

Understanding what type of learner you are is really important when you’re considering starting a business. Some people learn by reading, others by taking courses and others by just starting and “learning by doing”(I fall into this category). Understanding how you learn is key. Online-business in particular is a knowledge game and the more you know, the faster you can run.

My lack of knowledge resulted in spending a lot of time setting up projects and then getting zero traction after I launched it.

It was time consuming. And frustrating.

But….

…every failed project provided an important lesson about what NOT to do — and knowing what NOT to do, is more than halfway to knowing what you should do.

Slowly, over time, my understanding of how to setup and run an online business grew. By understanding what went wrong with previous projects, I became pretty good at knowing where the challenges would lie in a new business before I even started. That helped me to know which projects were worth pursuing and had the greatest chance of success.

This has meant that the recent projects I’ve started have been significantly more successful than anything I’ve worked on previously and there is an upward trend in this direction. In fact, I’ve had more traction for projects that I started in the past 10 months than the previous 10 years combined. Of course, this doesn’t mean that everything I do will succeed, but the chances of success are now much higher than they were 10 years ago.

This was originally published in the How to Fail at Business newsletter. Subscribe to get another 30-second quick-win like this one in your inbox tomorrow.

--

--