A winning cover letter that beat 150 applicants

Abhilash K B
How To Get AJYL
Published in
2 min readFeb 21, 2022
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

When I started documenting my journey of getting hired in public, there were requests to share the job description and the cover letter I sent which got me an interview call within 48 hours. I’m sharing them in this post.

The job description. Some details have been hidden to maintain confidentiality and privacy.
My application. Some details have been hidden to maintain confidentiality and privacy.

Note a few things.

I am not perfectly qualified for this job. I have the required number of years of experience BUT not in the exact role.

That did not stop me from applying.

It says it would be nice if the candidate knew or had an interest in this specific software and a few skillsets. I don’t know them but I am learning.

That did not stop me from applying.

If there’s one thing that you take away from this, I hope it is that you be courageous. Don’t reject yourself by looking at a long list of skills and requirements.

That should not stop you from applying.

--

--

Abhilash K B
How To Get AJYL

Someone who switched industries from lighting to writing. I am currently a technical writer... so, technically, I am a writer! http://ajyl.online/about