Cleaning Up Lunch: Day 5 (Cumin-Spiced Garbanzo Beans with Kale & a Poached Egg)

Paige Bennett
How To Home
Published in
4 min readMay 30, 2014

So we’ve come to the end of our clean eating lunch challenge. I don’t know about you but I have learned a lot in challenging myself to lighten up lunch…namely that it’s easy. I’ve always been a rush-through-lunch kind of gal and more often than not, would forget about lunch until 3, when I would realize that I was starving. In those cases, lunch was usually a couple of string cheeses and Chex Mix from the work snack stash. Healthy, right? The past couple of weeks have been an exercise in food mindfulness and my body thanks me for the break from string cheese.

Today I leave you with what was probably my favorite lunch — a creamy concoction of garbanzo beans, kale and egg. At first I balked at the recipe because it called for poached eggs (and who isn’t a tiny bit intimidated by poaching an egg?) But fear not! I’m about to share the easiest way to poach an egg that has forever made me throw my intimidation out the window.

First, a little poached egg tutorial. (I don’t own an egg poacher. I almost brought one before the engineer pointed out that now we’re engaged and can register for one. The best part of getting married ever.)

[caption id=”attachment_133" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

Poached

All you need is small cup, plastic wrap, some twine and a pair of scissors.[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_134" align=”aligncenter” width=”253"]

2nd

Cut a piece of plastic wrap and a small piece of twine. Crack your egg into the cup and place the plastic wrap on top.[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_137" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

purse

Invert the cup and slowly lift it up, creating a “purse” for your egg. Tie the twine around the ribbon and voila! You’ve just made your own egg poacher.[/caption]

Meanwhile, fill a pot with a few inches of water and bring it to a simmer (not a boil). Now, drop your egg purse in and let it cook for 4 minutes (no more, no less). Remove the egg, cut the twine and there you have it…your successfully poached egg!

Now onto the recipe. Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 can of garbanzo beans
  • 1 ½ teaspoons of olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic rice wine vinegar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons of cumin
  • ½ teaspoon of minced garlic
  • ½ cup of kale
  • Sea Salt and ground pepper to taste

While you’re poaching your egg, grab a small sauce pan and heat up the olive oil. Add your garlic and allow it to cook on low heat. After about 30 seconds, add the garbanzo beans and allow to cook for 5 minutes. Now add your vinegar and cumin, stirring to make sure that your mixture is well incorporated. Add the kale and allow it to cook for another 5 minutes. (If your garbanzo beans start to brown too much, reduce the heat and add a splash of vinegar). Plate the mixture, adding sea salt, a bit of pepper and your poached egg on top.

[caption id=”attachment_135" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

plated

It’s really, really delightful and I promise you, well worth conquering your poached-based fears.[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_136" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

Dinner

My full lunch, with cherries and apricots that we bought from the farmer’s market last weekend.[/caption]

My next challenge is going to be a series of clean eating dinners on the go — make ahead recipes and a few slow cooker options. Because we all have zero time in our day and who needs healthy eating to be more complicated?

--

--

Paige Bennett
How To Home

Design Research Manager @Dropbox, previously Design Research @medium. Southern gal making a home on the West Coast.