Modernica Factory Sale Recap (or when a six hour drive is totally worth it)

Paige Bennett
How To Home
Published in
3 min readJun 13, 2014

Last weekend, we took a road trip to LA in the name of mid-century modern goodness. I mentioned in this post about the greatness that is Modernica’s once a year factory sale. For anyone who loves this style of furniture and lives in the area (or, you know, at the other end of the state), it is absolutely worth the visit. Plus (and this is a big plus in our book), most of the furniture is at least half off from the regular price. Who can beat that deal?

Before we left, the engineer and I made a game plan — we were in the market for two lights and a set of planters that I had been eyeing for a year. Anything else we found would be a bonus.

[caption id=”attachment_163" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

PICT_20140607_132920

Check out the new neon color line for the Case Study chairs. I’m looking for a way to incorporate neon pink into my kitchen.[/caption]

Now, I’m a fan of Ikea just as much as the next person but I have to admit that it feels nice to know that I have a few pieces that can grow up with me and perhaps be handed down to my children one day.

[caption id=”attachment_164" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

Image-1

These planters were half off and we snagged the last white one. I plan on filling it with succulents and putting an Aloe plant in the black one.[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_165" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

PICT_20140607_130715

For anyone who is a fan of the Case Study fiberglass chairs, you can see the chairs being made onsite. It’s a really fascinating process.[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_168" align=”aligncenter” width=”300"]

Here are the two lights we found for the kitchen and entryway. Lights are my personal “put a bird on it.” I just want to put one of these lights in every room in my house.

Here are the two lights we found for the kitchen and entryway. Lights are my personal “put a bird on it.” I just want to put one of these lights in every room of my house.[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_169" align=”aligncenter” width=”243"]

Taking a break from deal hunting. I’m sitting in the Papa Bear Chair, which I’ve been in love with for the past two years. But when you live in an apartment, you only have so much space. One day….one day this chair will be in my home.[/caption]

So we ended up with new lighting, a new home for indoor plants (that I can hopefully keep alive), and a little sun thanks to a quick trip to the beach. All in all, a successful weekend. Until next year, Modernica!

--

--

Paige Bennett
How To Home

Design Research Manager @Dropbox, previously Design Research @medium. Southern gal making a home on the West Coast.