How to Sound Smart on Medium

Giulio Michelon
How To Life
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2016

--

In case you didn't notice this is a paragraph of introduction to let you understand that this topic is interesting, and that the author, which is Giulio Michelon (in bold, just in case you didn't feel that my ego is quite big), can use italic as an introduction.

Medium is one of the best platforms to sound smart. Everyone loves sounding smart so let me go through some of those techniques to make this article totally smart and enjoyable.

Some techniques to stick your eyes on screen

There are several techniques to do it, like:

  1. Numbered lists
  2. Italic and bold stuff to let the reader jump around. Better if random.
  3. A link to a cool website.
  4. More numbered items in a list, with a longer text.

A lot of articles are using this kind of format to let you inspire or copy other articles, and generate more articles. Isn't this awesome? Yes, it is. And now, to keep you engaged let me give you a nice meme picture.

Do you feel engaged? I know you do!

How do you feel? I'm sure you feel a lot smarter right now, but maybe — just maybe — you feel like you are losing your time. I can reassure: this is not the case. I can even prove it, just read the bold quote below and feel more inspired and ready to action.

This is a quote. It looks big and bold. Do you feel smarter yet? Get ready for the next paragraph: it's pure gold.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Primum in nostrane potestate est, quid meminerimus? Facillimum id quidem est, inquam. Age nunc isti doceant, vel tu potius quis enim ista melius? Ad corpus diceres pertinere-, sed ea, quae dixi, ad corpusne refers? Quid ergo aliud intellegetur (which means smart in latin) nisi uti ne quae pars naturae neglegatur? At iam decimum annum in spelunca iacet. Duo Reges: constructio interrete. Huius, Lyco, oratione locuples, rebus ipsis ielunior.

That's the end of the first part of the article, but I have more for you, after the pause.

The Pause

Sometimes when you write an article you need a pause. Why? Because it looks smart! You should definitely consider a pause in your articles. Look at those three little points that are telling you: "Hey, take it easy. Do a pause."

A pause.

In order to prove that what I'm saying is true I can use some pie charts, or generic graphic that I obtained via some cryptic code.

Slice 1, 2 and 3 are completely random, in case you're wondering.

By the way: this is the code I used to create the chart.

if(you want to make a chart) {
goto(google);
}

And now, something very fresh and smart to keep you engaged.

3 killer tips to sound smart on Medium

  1. Start writing on Medium, no matter if you have actual content. Just write a lot of text. I mean: reading and writing it's no common stuff. Plus everything look super classy here.
  2. Use punctuation. A lot of that. And a lot of points. Keep it short. Short. Sho. Sh.
  3. Keep using numbered lists. I know I already stated that but it's important. It's in bold now, so I'm sure you got the concept.

Last caption of the article. Are you ready for the end?

And what about you? Do you feel smart on Medium? I'm asking question to make you answer, since smart articles have a lot of reactions and appreciation and share through all channels. Let me know. It's important.

One more thing: don't forget to share it with your friends who understand humor.

--

--