Things I’ve Done at Work to Procrastinate Doing Actual Work

And you can too!

Stella J. McKenna
How To Life
2 min readOct 26, 2016

--

source: katphotos on flickr
  1. Wrote things on Medium.
  2. Spent 4 hours researching fitness tracking devices. The result of which was: I bought none.
  3. Ate food, specifically: almond butter out of the jar with a fork because a fork was conveniently located and spoons were not; leftover edamame from last night’s takeout; a kiddie-sized ice cream cone.
  4. Snapchatted myself eating a kiddie-sized ice cream cone at work.
  5. Researched the 5x5 workout. The result of which was: no, I don’t lift, bro.
  6. Went through my email’s trash folder and preemptively deleted things.
  7. Created new Spotify playlists.
  8. Searched for cheap airfare to anywhere.
  9. Played Words with Friends.
  10. Tried to figure out how to do the New York Times crossword online for free but learned they give you nothing for free.
  11. Tindered
  12. Photoshopped a meme that’s only funny to myself and maybe one other person.
  13. Chased a loud buzzing fly around my office to try to whack it with a pad of Post-it notes.
  14. Walked to a nearby park and swung on the swing set.
  15. Created a personal budget in Excel. Decided I should save money by making coffee at home. Searched through my purse to collect all the change. Went to coffee shop to buy cappuccino with fistfuls of change.
  16. Finished writing my Master’s thesis.
  17. Searched for new jobs.

If you like what you just read, please recommend it and then check out more of my ramblings at https://medium.com/@writingsolo or tweet me @writingsolo.

--

--

Stella J. McKenna
How To Life

Mystery woman by day. Writer by night. Hopeless yet unrelenting 24–7. I like to contemplate: love, sex, feelings, quantum physics, and pop music lyrics.