About Me

Andrew Dellapina
How to Win
Published in
2 min readSep 16, 2016
My dad (right) and me at the 2016 All-Star Skills Competition dress rehearsal at Bridgestone Arena

My name is Andrew Dellapina and I a recent graduate of Vanderbilt University. I studied “Human and Organizational Development”, which can most easily be summarized as learning how to identify and solve problems in organizations. I have also been a passionate hockey fan and player my entire life, most recently as a member of Vanderbilt’s club hockey team. While I grew up in North Jersey cheering on the New York Rangers and more recently have found myself fortunate enough to spend time in college assisting the Nashville Predators, I have grown to appreciate the teams and players of the National Hockey League on a larger scale. I am intrigued by team construction, asset management and player evaluation and use this outlet to express my thoughts on these topics.

If you’re curious about the other guy in the picture above, he’s the man responsible for this whole mess. My father has been involved in hockey his entire life and has made the sport a huge part of mine ever since he taught his two-year old son to name every player and staff member featured in the 1996–97 New York Rangers’ team photo (there is video evidence). From coaching early morning youth hockey games to helping me build relationships with prominent members of the hockey world, I owe my passion for hockey and many of the opportunities I’ve been given to him (and he’ll be quick to remind me that I owe everything outside of hockey to my mother).

Obviously I believe that my opinions have merit — otherwise I would just be wasting your time as well as mine. However, I also admit that there is much for me to still learn about the greatest sport in the world. In the past year I have begun to take a deeper look at analytics in hockey, a divisive topic in the sport today. I hope to learn more about this quantifiable data and combine it with my experiences as a player, lifelong fan and student of management and organizational effectiveness. Most importantly, I hope to convey all of this to you in a thoughtful and entertaining manner.

When I’m not talking about hockey (which isn’t often), I’m likely talking about my favorite football teams, the Vanderbilt Commodores (2017 SEC East Champs) and New York Giants (2017 NFC East Champs). I now live in New York City and love to play various sports and video games.

I truly enjoy talking to other people about these subjects and encourage any readers to engage with me on social media. You can interact with me on Twitter @AndrewDellapina.

--

--