How To Be Potentially Independent?

Shantanu Bhola
How-To’s
Published in
4 min readApr 17, 2024
How to be potentially independent?

I started doing a job as a part-time home tutor when I was in the first semester of college.

It was such a hectic schedule, but the HUNGER to be independent was the driving force that encouraged me to NEVER GIVE UP.

With the increasing population, competition is getting tougher day by day.

Everyone likes to be independent, especially when we are in adulthood. We want to be extremely independent.

From living on your terms to making decisions on your own, independence always provides the right to take control of your life.

But it’s difficult to be independent. Below, I’m sharing a few yet impactful ways to be potentially independent.

#1 First, learn to believe in yourself

At first, it’s truly difficult to trust your capabilities, but you have to develop unshakable TRUST in yourself. You need to build strong self-confidence in your skills.

Why is self-confidence important? Because if you can’t believe in “YOU CAN BE INDEPENDENT,” you can’t be. Most of the time, people fail not because they don’t have skills but because they lack confidence.

Here is how you can build self-confidence.

  • Complete small tasks successfully.
  • Ask for feedback and work on it.
  • Engage in communities to share your opinions.

#2 Write down your goals and priorities

I’m not talking about using any tool to set a goal. I’m talking about WRITING because when you start to write on paper, it will provide a sense of seriousness.

Yeah, you may think it’s an old way but believe me, it will help you to monitor your progress and also help you to stay on track toward your goals.

#3 Leverage time

Time. All you need is to develop some extra skills. Whenever you have college holidays, such as festivals, etc. Utilize those holidays to learn SKILLS that are relevant to your field.

Let’s say you are an aspiring accountant but don’t know how to use accounting software. Today is your day off, but instead of wasting time watching movies, you dedicate your time to learning accounting software.

This will not only develop your solid account skills but also help you stay one step ahead.

#4 Spend time with yourself

After being laid off from MNC in 2022, I spent months thinking about my interests and how I could transform them into a money-making career.

Those two months were like brainstorming eras for me; every day my whole goal was to learn something that could add value to my career.

If you really want to be INDEPENDENT FINANCIALLY, then spend some time with yourself to learn a little bit more about yourself, such as your choices, your passions, your priorities, etc.

#5 Work on your communication skill

God gives us the brain to THINK and the mouth to express what we think.

Communication skill is the most powerful asset

  • to be involved in communities
  • to share feelings effectively.
  • to get involved in societies

To improve your communication skills, you need to practice strategically. When I say strategically, I emphasize a few key strategies, such as

First, listen to what others say, then respond actively. You don’t believe me, but most people don’t want to listen to anyone, and that’s what positions you in a unique place in the community.

If you have hesitation to communicate publicly, then first practice within your friend circle.

#6 Encircle yourself with impactful people

Maybe you are thinking, What’s the role of surroundings in our career?, right?

But let me tell you a small story: once upon a time, there was a person who had an EXTREME HUNGER to become RICH, but his income was low. Despite having less income, he always visits five-star hotels to have a cup of tea. One day, his friend asked him why he visited a five-star hotel for just a tea break. He replied, “Rich people only visit five stars. Whenever I visit a five-star hotel, I get the opportunity to see rich people; this will help me understand their mindset and attitude.

And that man is Dhirubhai Ambani, who is the most famous and prestigious businessman in India. If you are surrounded by people with a POSITIVE MINDSET, you will always feel motivated towards your career goal.

This will develop a solid problem-solving skill in you. On the other hand, if you are surrounded by negative people, you will always procrastinate.

#7 Love yourself first despite failures

I failed in one subject in the first semester of my graduation. This thing felt so deep that I promised myself to “never fail again.”

After exams, there was a one-month break to start a new semester. During those holidays, I create two columns in my notebook and start to note down each of my weak spots, and in the second column, I write down possible solutions I can implement in the upcoming semester.

When the second semester started, I applied all the lessons that I had learned from my past failures.

So what I’m saying is: Never run from your FAILURE; always love it; and LEARN FROM IT.

--

--

Shantanu Bhola
How-To’s

Hello! I’m Shantanu, Freelance Content Writer | Graphic Designer | Researcher | Bookworm :) Follow me on twitter - https://twitter.com/shantanubhola