How To Decorate The Perfect Christmas Tree

Holly McEathron
How-To’s
Published in
2 min readNov 29, 2023
Taken by Sarah Martens

There is nothing more exciting as you put the Thanksgiving dishes in the sink and realizing it is finally acceptable to go pick out your Christmas tree. After arguing over tree after tree with your family, and picking out the perfect one for your space, there are different rules I believe you must follow to curate the prettiest festive tree.

The first step to decorating the tree, is making sure you have an actual tree. Personally, I think it adds some Christmas character and will put you in the spirit by going to the Christmas tree farm and picking out a live tree. While Home Depot trees might last longer and have the perfect build, it doesn’t put you in the same holiday spirit.

The second step is lights. While I am all for color and bringing out the reds and greens in Christmas, I believe the Christmas tree should be yellow lights and yellow lights only. By doing this, ornaments will match with everything and it will give you the cozy Christmas feel.

The third step is to picking out the right ornaments. While I am all for the aesthetic and trying to obtain the perfect Pinterest photo, I think sentimental ornaments are always a must. Taking ornaments out of a box and it reminding you of a memory or time is such a special thing to get to do at Christmas and something I think everyone should experience.

Lastly, no wrap on the tree is a must. You want to be able to showcase your sparkly ornaments and lights without the wrappings stealing the spotlight.

After following these careful instructions, I believe that all of you will have the perfectly decorated tree and Santa will appreciate it!

--

--

Holly McEathron
How-To’s

My blog is all about experiences and things I am passionate about!