nptelDl : How I developed Chrome Extension

Shubham Sawant
howcatcancode
Published in
1 min readJun 15, 2017

Hello world,
This post is to introduce nptelDl chrome extension that I developed yesterday. From a while I was developing an app for downloading NPTEL courses.

First I wrote a simple python script and later used it in Django app. The problem with the django app was of buffering of requests and the runtime environment that python gave for downloading videos. I was using requests library and it really didn’t give good performance. I thought of creating threads but better option was switching to JavaScript.

JavaScript is just awesome. She’s like the girl that every guy would love to have. Runtime environment of chrome gave strong power and ability of asynchronous process. Chrome extension seemed plausible option and it’s pretty easy to develop.

I used chrome’s downloads api and jquery. With a few ajax requests and filtering response scraped content and retrieved video’s download link. It is an open source project and I request you guys to contribute to it.If you like this little project, consider giving it a star. If you are the one in need of some solution for downloading NPTEL video courses , this is the perfect solution.

A few enhancements would be released in upcoming versions. Maybe it won’t be just an extension but a Chrome App with a lot of new features. Please download it and share your feedbacks.

Thanks for your time. Let the pawsBeOnBoard. Happy Coding.

--

--