13 Beautiful Tools to Enhance Online Teaching and Learning Skills

In this piece, we will cover which tools and applications a math teacher should utilize while delivering remote instruction and answer the question of which of these may help ensure students learn the material.

Ali
However, Mathematics
15 min readAug 30, 2020

--

Lego Macintosh | Photo by Jannis Hermanns

We are very near the end of the turning point in our lives, which was the advent of YouTube on February 14th, 2005. Due to the people who run the world being devoid of mathematical and logical thinking, the long-overdue fundamental change to the education system is now being forced to come to fruition by an invisible virus and fate.

In the near future, we will be able to provide the tools and opportunities for a generation to learn of its own volition versus forcing education down its throat in cramped classrooms that barely have the oxygen level sufficient for a human being. We will provide quality education at a very low cost to rural areas by connecting those regions to the internet instead of sending inexperienced teachers who have little to no pride and satisfaction in their job.

Last year, in my piece titled “Why Do We Need to Redefine Our Math Education,” I explored and elaborated on the views of Ali Nesin, a prominent mathematician and intellectual, as to why the education system must undergo a transformation. You can read more about it below.

To be quite frank; I had thought that the online education system would have immense benefits. That was because I was under the impression that when teaching, we would be faced with students who took the matter of their education into their hands, putting forth effort for the sake of their future, their success, and utilizing their computer to take notes. They would have an awareness of it all being for their own sake. I had envisioned that the kids who made it clear that they were “unteachable” would make way for respectful, motivated kids who would mute themselves in an online classroom, and the rest could carry on playing their video games. In short, I had pictured an incredibly productive future.

However, I now think completely differently about the matter. Most of the online education has not gone beyond the level of two individuals on a Skype call. I must admit, as a person who has received a lot of his higher-level mathematics education online, I have not found it very useful. The fundamental reason being that the educators who are in effect, no more than the workers and slaves of the old education system, are not prepared to instruct under these new conditions. Please do not be offended by my reference to teachers as “slaves”, as someone who has spent eight years in education in this country, that is my sentiment.

Yet as teachers, we are still obligated to perform our duties to the best of our ability. That is why if we want to offer our students only the best, we must be able to utilize these technologies to an incredible degree effectively. For this to happen, we must first have the proper tools.

By the proper means, I am not referring to the rubbish that is 99% of the search results that pop up when you type “Best tools for classroom instruction” into Google. I will elaborate further, referring to quality products such as Paper, Desmos, and Wolfram Alpha.

Before I begin, this is not a product review. I genuinely intend for the information herein to be of service to others for the benefit of humanity.

Paper by WeTransfer

The first tool I will discuss at length is the Paper application, which I have used almost to a fault since it first debuted. It drastically alters a teacher’s life for the better when deployed in conjunction with an iPad and the Apple Pencil. And I can say that it has done so for me.

Some of my drawings using the Paper app.

Technology is pretty integrated into my daily life. As such, I try to benefit from its use in the classrooms that I teach. However, my adoption of technology does not mean that I have entirely abandoned traditional teaching methods. At the very least, my goal here is to effectively integrate traditional methods of instruction with technology in the ideal manner possible. I might say that this is genuinely my foremost goal in life. As a math teacher, I find myself increasingly contemplating more and more on how to utilize technology more effectively. Being able to reach a solution requires me to be an outstanding assessor.

Mathematics isn’t merely composed of numbers, as many people assume. It is quite a visual discipline, as well. For example, while Algebra II only features charts and graphs, Calculus harbors many complex and highly-detailed diagrams. Geometry, as you know, is made up of patterns and figures. That is why when I brainstorm things related to math, I take notes on a piece of paper to visualize my thoughts.

While the patterns we observe in nature changes our perspective of the world, our view of the world profoundly affects our thoughts.

When I started teaching math, I had envisioned doing my job to the best of my ability and being regarded by my students as “a cool math teacher.” I needed to teach all of my students who harbored the slightest desire to learn how to think mathematically. That is why I initially required to prove that everyone that walked into my classroom could learn math. However, standing at the whiteboard with a pre-written curriculum did not work at all. Instead, I had become a boring math teacher rather than a “cool” one. And it wasn’t as if I enjoyed my job either.

One day, while utilizing the best tool to be found in this ugly world known as Paper, a light bulb went off in my head for a personal project. I asked myself the question of “why don’t I utilize the amazing trinity that is Paper, and iPad and the Apple Pencil to teach in class?” with the same zest as Archimedes claimed “Eureka!” on that fateful day hundreds of years ago. I was teaching Algebra II, Calculus, and Geometry. Paper was an excellent candidate to serve as a blackboard for instruction. In theory, I had become excited as the Apple Pencil and Paper app were the most effective means of teaching math and solving problems.

The very next day, I brought my iPad to my class and tested whether this theory of mine had any real practical value. The results were evident after 10 minutes: the Apple Pencil and Paper app could indefinitely replace the dry-erase markers and notebooks I had used for years. I could now draw outstanding figures very quickly, and my handwriting was reflected onto the screen just as it would’ve been on paper. I could directly translate everything in my head onto the board in a very creative way, and show my students in a very visual and aesthetic manner. In my students’ eyes, I could now see that taking notes had become much more exciting and engaging.

I am aware that I have dragged this discussion out for too long. Now I will go ahead and answer the question that has been on your mind this entire time and tell you what has made this whole experience so useful for me as a mathematics teacher for the past five years.

How can a teacher utilize the Paper app while instructing?

The answer is quite simple. With the aid of the likes of Reflector or AirServer, it is possible to link an iPad to a computer (to be projected onto a projector screen or whiteboard) while utilizing the Paper app as a whiteboard and the Apple Pencil as a marker. Otherwise, how can a math teacher solve a problem using a computer mouse? How productive can that be? The excuse of a wireless tablet known as MimioPad, could hardly be sufficient either.

Archimedes method to find the area of a circle.

Apple Pencil

Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

When I first picked up the Apple Pencil, I noticed that the ergonomics and weight make it like a traditional pencil or pen. Apple has successfully engineered the pencil so that you don’t need to adjust the way you write to use them effectively. I think the Apple Pencil is incredibly useful. I love that simple white stick. I was like I found a new apparatus to get support for my explanations and thinking.

• Most importantly, I can use my iPad and my Apple Pencil easily while standing up or walking, which I think is one of the main benefits of tablets.• More and more, I’ve found myself able to do everything I need on my iPad while in my classroom without needing to return to my desk.• Apple Pencil helps me improve my classroom management. Beautiful.• After about two months of daily use, I reached the point where it felt equally natural to write on the Pro as I did on paper.• My handwriting on my iPad looks exactly like my handwriting on paper.

*** If you think that the Apple Pencil is expensive, Paper has its pencil it manufactures that also works very well.

Paper by FiftyThree

Paper by FiftyThree | Source

For me, the Paper app is the most beautiful drawing and note-taking application on the face of this planet. Finally, designers made a tool that could work at the speed of thought because you can capture ideas so quickly at the moment. It is the best way to get what’s in your head onto the screen. It is a natural creative experience. Yes, there are more specific drawing and painting apps, but for me, they are garbage. Mostly that notability app, it is wasting off time. If someone tells you to try notability, stop talking to him/her immediately.

Some of my drawings for my mathematics lectures.
• It is the best way to get what’s in your head onto the screen.• It gives the feeling of real paper.• This tool is also so useful for anyone because it doesn’t take many artistic talents to create something that looks pretty cool using it.• The integration with Dropbox and Google Classroom makes the content I create in Paper instantly more shareable and useful.• Uploading the class notes in high quality, or just sending an email to the parents if that is more convenient.• Whenever I need a document, no matter how long ago I’ve made it, I can get to it from any of my internet-connected devices. For instance, I can display the solutions to a past exam paper on a projector for the whole class to see any time.• Overall, a basic, but still a cool app.

Paper gives me infinite notebooks to capture all my ideas, notes, and drawings quickly and intuitively. So I opened different notebooks for each teaching subject. For instance, I have three different notebooks for Geometry, Calculus, and Algebra. So I can be well organized and tap on any of my notebooks and start my lecturing, writing, and outlining.

For each notebook, I have plenty of paper options. Most of the time, I work on a blank paper, but I choose graph paper when I need to deal with a coordinate plane. For instance, when I graph lines in the y=mx+b form and the graph paper of 10×10 in the app worked very well.

I can draw any geometric shapes quickly and color them in seconds. This tool makes my lectures attractive and is kind of a gateway to creativity through the use of digital art and creativity. I like to work on solving problems using the multi-colored pens available in the app. The terrific colorful pencils, brushes are helping me make my lecture notes more noticeable and unique. I can quickly draw perfect geometrical shapes, color them, and cut them.

I used to prepare presentations on Powerpoint or Keynote for my every lecture, and the simplest one took at least an hour. However, after work, I have had only 4 hours for my family. I could spend more time with my family. And my new apparatus solved this issue. Now I don’t have to prepare presentations. All I need to do is take the screenshot of the questions and open them with Paper. Then I can quickly solve them.

I am also a master’s student. Thus I was using a lot of paper. For one of my math courses, I produced hundreds of pages of handwritten notes. Thankfully, after Paper and Apple Pencil, I have all those notes electronically filed and organized.

Anyway, I haven’t said many things, but I think I showed you enough good things.

When I decided to use my iPad and Paper for my mathematics lectures, I hoped to make much difference in my student’s performance. However, it helped me much more directly in managing and differentiating instructions. Paper can be used for enrichment and creativity at its basic level by any level of a student.

Well then, what other tools are available for teachers to use for online education purposes?

Schools are not enough to learn or to be good at something, especially for mathematics. We need to go above and beyond school education. The right tools always take the headache out of mathematics and, most of the time, make learning mathematics fun. For that purpose, I have compiled the best tools to help you or your child on your mathematics journey. I hope you use and enjoy them.

Abakcus

abakcus.com

The internet is like an ocean. Mostly, it is so beautiful and wonderful. Once, Newton said, “What we know is a drop, what we don’t know is an ocean.” Why don’t you make your drop utterly valuable? Abakcus is the collection of perfect sources about mathematics and science. On Abakcus, you can actively search and discover all the best articles, books, projects, videos, and tools you’re looking for.

Pencil

My favorite pencil, Pilot the Shaker.

First of all, a good educator must always carry a writing utensil because any bright idea that pops into your mind is prone to disappearing in an instant, which means that it is important to write such thoughts down immediately. A quote by Clive Thompson highlights this very well:

“When your fingers can’t move as fast as your thoughts, your ideas suffer.”

I have an affinity for a particular paper that I have toted around since 2004 called “Pilot the Shaker.”

Notebook

Moleskine notebooks!

The second basic need of an educator is a notebook. To be a good teacher, one must learn something very well, which only comes through extensive practice. For example, if we could prove the Pythagorean Theorem on our own, we can teach it to someone else much better. The best manner to do that is in a notebook, and I think Ali Nesin put it best when he said: “If you desire to be a good mathematician, you must use enough paper to consume an entire forest, but that does not mean waste all of that paper.” Thus, I highly recommend Moleskine’s incredibly simple and quality notebooks.

Wolfram Alpha

If you are wondering about a better tool than Google, the answer is simple. It is Wolfram Alpha. It is a place that you can find almost all the answers that you are looking for.

For instance, you can find the solution of the derivative of cosine x³ step by step, or you can convert your shoe size. You can get all the unnecessary information about your name, you can find daily prayer times or all the inflation rates per year, and you can learn what your aunt’s uncle’s son’s daughter’s aunt’s cousin” is called. You can even get all the information about your flight or the airlines.

I am using Wolfram Alpha, especially for the challenge Calculus questions. The most beautiful thing for this app is giving the solution step by step. And I have just paid 2.99 for the app.

1- What is your aunt’s uncle’s son’s daughter’s aunt’s cousin” called? 2- The distance details between Istanbul to Dallas. 3- The derivative of cosine x³.

Brilliant

I think It is the best educational site so far. Brilliant is an online community of learners who share and solve mathematics problems. However, it is not for beginners. It is different than Khan Academy. It is mainly for students who are planning to participate in Math Olympiad contests.

Advanced level math students should use this tool. Brilliant has so many splendid courses for them. The teaching concept is well because students can learn anytime while they are having tons of fun.

Desmos

It could be the best tool to give a visual understanding — especially for functions. The founder of Desmos believes that the key is learning by doing. And they have done a perfect job so far. Their math engine works perfectly and helps us graph the functions. Have you ever tried to draw the Batman logo with functions, or a horse, or the White House? Desmos did. Check this out for more.

If you are looking for more cool classroom activities, check their pages for teachers here.

Coursera and edx

00+ Amazing Ivy League School Courses to Improve Yourself | Source: Abakcus

Have you ever heard “Massive Open Online Courses”? It is a chance to take online free courses from Ivy League schools. Yes, free online courses from the best schools like Harvard or MIT or Yale. There are more than 400 free online courses that are waiting for you to enroll. But how? At this point, they made Coursera and Edx combine all those terrific courses.

Abakcus compiled all those fantastic courses for you!

Latex

It is a document preparation system. If you want to prepare good looking assignments for your students or homework, you should use LaTex.

The best way to learn and use LaTex is sharelatex.com. Sharelatex lets you take notes, design your assignments, convert your files into PDF files, and save all your files on their cloud system. In this way, you never lose your projects and easily share them with your friends. You can check so many samples here.

Dropmark

I am sure that you are finding lots of resources every day on the internet. Then what? What was that website again? To avoid asking yourself that question, use Dropmark. It is the most beautiful way of organizing your favorite and newly discovered online resources. This social bookmarking tool provides a way to catalog websites using tags so that you can quickly return to them when you need them.

Note 1: Beyond Euclid! is my weekly newsletter that brings you only high-quality math and science stuff to ensure you are having a good week. Please do yourself a favor by subscribing to Beyond Euclid and enjoy it! And if you can be a member and support my work, that would be awesome! Thank you!Note 2: I get commissions for purchases made through links in this post.

--

--

Ali
However, Mathematics

Math Teacher. Content Curator. Soccer player. Maradona fan. Mostly write about the lectures I love to learn better. alikayaspor@gmail.com