17 Innovative Mathematics Projects that Inspire Students

Ali
However, Mathematics
15 min readNov 3, 2019

--

Photo by Omar Flores on Unsplash

The famous mathematician John von Neumann one said, “In mathematics, you don’t understand things; you just get used to them.” However, I don’t agree with him. I believe that if we develop mathematical things, such as projects, we should definitely have an understanding about how mathematics works.

I believe that these projects will be a huge hit with students or children because most students don’t fully grasp the idea of a math topic when they see it. Projects are a hands-on learning experience which should be included in the schools curriculum.

Below, I have compiled a list of some unique and cool mathematical projects for any blooming mathematicians. So far, I have had a chance to make a few of these projects with my students. As for the rest of them, I am planning to institute them into my curriculum this year. Because life is short, I will show you below some of the easiest instructions available in a link below the description so that you can follow along with students or children.

Makedo Windball

Makedo Windball is a simple, yet unique geometry project. Basically, all you do is assemble simple cardboards and turn them into a kind of art form. The main idea behind the project is actually quite abstract; it shows that there is no truly perfect sphere in…

--

--

Ali
However, Mathematics

Math Teacher. Content Curator. Soccer player. Maradona fan. Mostly write about the lectures I love to learn better. alikayaspor@gmail.com